Review: MARVEL MONSTERS #1 Frenzied Monster Mashing For All Ages

FIRST IMPRESSION

Marvel Monsters is a kid-friendly introduction to the biggest and baddest Marvel has to offer.
Writing/Story
Pencils/Inks
Colors
Lettering
- Advertisement -

While Marvel Monsters #1, out this week from Marvel Comics is not what I expected, it is a fun and informative look into the monsters of the Marvel world.

Review: MARVEL MONSTERS #1 Frenzied Monster Mashing For All Ages 1

Cullen Bunn provides the story and Scott Hepburn handles the art for the actual story portion in the issue. Israel Silva provides colors and shows off his great ability to get these larger than life creatures to pop right off the page. With so much going on at once, so much can get lost, yet we can see clearly what every monster is doing, no matter how small they are.

Review: MARVEL MONSTERS #1 Frenzied Monster Mashing For All Ages 2

- Advertisement -

Travis Lanham handles the lettering in this one-shot, and with all the monster action, he had his work cut out for him. The noises and roars from the monsters don’t take away from the artwork and actually blends in and becomes part of the art.

WARNING: SPOILERS FOLLOW

Marvel Monsters #1 is a one-shot that pits Kid Kaiju and Max Frankenstein against each other in a battle for a monster anatomy book. Kei Kewade is in the Baltic Sea exploring an abandoned castle on a small island. While searching the ruins with his monster companion Scragg, they happen upon an altar surrounded by candles enshrining a book. The book appears to be about monster anatomy, and something Max Frankenstein has been using to create his evil creatures.

Review: MARVEL MONSTERS #1 Frenzied Monster Mashing For All Ages 3

A Timely publication from 1939, the book shows all the different monsters and all their statistics. It shows height, weight, and the functions of each part of the monster, and is a considerable opportunity for different artists to draw pin-ups of the monster each page is detailing.

Many great artists contribute full-page pin-ups and they are stunning. Marvel Monsters #1 is an art book Marvel made to show off their more unknown offenders. Stephanie Hans, Clayton Crain, Michael Allred, Nick Bradshaw, Becky Cloonan, and Gerardo Zaffino are just over half of the artists contributing full-page pin-ups. Superlog does a fantastic job with the cross-sections breaking down their anatomy and explaining their powers, giving it an old worn look.

Review: MARVEL MONSTERS #1 Frenzied Monster Mashing For All Ages 4

While Kid Kaiju can manifest monsters just by drawing them, it appears the book Kei found was research material for the Frankenstein family. Max has to create his monsters just like his namesake, so this book is paramount to his evil schemes.

Kid Kaiju is still a fairly new character. I didn’t read much of the Monsters Unleashed run about him, so I’m not aware if that series gave him an archenemy like a Joker to his Batman. Marvel Monsters #1 presents Kid Kaiju with a super-villain that could prove to be his big bad guy to contend with.

This issue provides some amazing art and a new direction for a new character. I fully expected this to be a horror centered story that perhaps led to a longer series. Although disappointed when I opened the book, I was pleased when I did a little reading. I grew up watching Godzilla so it’s nice when a story like this can be enjoyed by fans of all ages.

Review: MARVEL MONSTERS #1 Frenzied Monster Mashing For All Ages 5

This is not a story full of destruction and blood. It is a story to get children interested in some aspects of Marvel they may not be familiar with. Any fans of monsters will enjoy the anatomy and full-page pin-ups, and collectors of horror and monster books won’t want to miss this.

How awesome are those monster pin-ups? Let us know how surprised you were by this issue in the comments below.

Save 50% on graphic novels, statues & more!

TRENDING THIS WEEK

Review: BLACK HAMMER: AGE OF DOOM #12-The End of an Epic

With Anti-God threatening existence once again, Abraham Slam, Golden Gail, and company are forced to make a difficult choice in Black Hammer: Age of...

FIREFLY #9 Shows How The Past Is Never Far Behind

Firefly #9 is a poignant reminder that no matter how far Malcolm Reynolds runs, he’ll never escape his past. This dark issue is perfect for fans of Mal and Zoe.

Lobo’s Kid Snaps In Our Exclusive First Look At TEEN TITANS #34

Teen Titans #34 hits your local comic book store on September 18, but thanks to DC Comics, Monkeys Fighting Robots has an exclusive five-page...

A Dark and Deadly Tale Begins In NOMEN OMEN #1

Nomen Omen #1 is the start of a dark and disturbing series from Image Comics. It's a tale of the supernatural coming after what is their due, and so much more.

Review: THE BLACK GHOST#1 Excellently Mixes Noir, Mystery and Vigilantes

The Black Ghost #1, published by ComiXology, and created by Alex Segura, Monica Gallagher, Marco Finnegan, George Kambadias, Ellie Wright and Taylor Esposito perfectly...

Review: POWERS OF X #4: The Introduction Of The Sassiest Sinister

Jonathon Hickman’s House of X and Powers of X stories are proving to be classics and Powers of X #4 is no exception. Hickman’s...

Review: DEAD END KIDS #3 Will Leave You Needing Tissues

With the concluding issue, DEAD END KIDS #3 wraps up its emotional coming-of-age story on a somber, yet high note. Word of warning, you...

GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY #9 – The Universal Chuch Of Action

This week Marvel unleashes GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY #9 upon their faithful cosmic followers. Donny Cates delivers another heavy metal soaked script that artist Cory Smith packages in a fast-paced and action-packed issue.
Cody
Cody
Working in the subscription department at the world's largest comic shop. Lover of horror, Jeff Lemire, Tom Petty, hip-hop, kitties, playing bass, screaming loudly, mountains, and great food. Living my best life with no car, riding the rails, reading great stories. If any European readers would like to send me some blood pudding, I'd be ok with that.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

SPONSORS

If you want your BUSINESS to be part of something bigger than itself, you might be a good fit to partner with Monkeys Fighting Robots.

Review: MARVEL MONSTERS #1 Frenzied Monster Mashing For All Ages 9

CONTACT US

Review: MARVEL MONSTERS #1 Frenzied Monster Mashing For All Ages 10

Are you a creator looking for a review of your book?
Use the form below to end us a message.

Are you a fan of the website and have a comment, question, or concern? Drop us a line, and we will gladly answer all your questions.

JOIN THE TEAM

Monkeys Fighting Robots is looking for passionate writers to drive the site’s coverage of the comic book industry. Authors will be responsible for a particular niche, providing reviews, opinion and news coverage, while building a reader community using his or her multimedia storytelling skills. The best candidates have solid writing skills, WordPress knowledge, and are engaged on social media. Do you love comic books and have a strong opinion, then we would like to speak with you.

Review: MARVEL MONSTERS #1 Frenzied Monster Mashing For All Ages 11

MEET THE TEAM

COMIC REVIEW DIGEST, sign up today! At Monkeys Fighting Robots, we strive to talk about ALL aspects of a comic book, instead of just giving you a recap of the story.
  • Did you notice how epic the colors were?
  • That was a wicked panel layout by the artist!
  • What was the letterer thinking?
  • How did this comic book make you feel?
  • Most importantly, should you buy it?

Every Wednesday you will receive an email with our latest reviews and analyses, as well as our original comic strips and exclusive editorial content.
Thanks for signing up!