Kitty & Co. Make A Statement In ‘X-Men: Gold’ #3

- Advertisement -

The first month of Marvel’s ResurreXion of the X-Men has been a busy one. We’ve already had a major controversy, a delay, and four new titles to absorb. Hopefully the dramatics are behind us and readers can simply enjoy their comic books. With X-Men: Gold #3, Kitty and company make a statement.

x-men gold 3 cvr

 

***SPOILERS LIE AHEAD***

- Advertisement -

Kitty Pryde and her team of X-Men haven’t settled into their new lives before being thrust into their first conflict. The new Brotherhood Of Evil Mutants attacks the UN and kidnaps NYC’s mayor. It’s up to our mutant heroes to resolve this mess and attempt to keep human/mutant relations in tact.

Writer Marc Guggenheim didn’t waste any time throwing this team of classic muties beauties into a familiar scene. The Brotherhood is more of a routine foe, allowing us to get accustomed to this new team compilation. In these first three issues, the focus has been on Kitty. Guggenheim quickly establishes her as the bold, bad-ass she can be. Ms. Pryde isn’t taking her new role lightly, she wants the world to know that the X-Men are back and they’re not to be trifled with.

Guggenheim’s dialogue hammers home the point that Kitty doesn’t have time to waste, and she’s also very prepared. Her veteran X-Men status shines through and even overshadows valiant efforts by the other longtime mutant champions. Learning some new operational lingo, like “violent extraction”, emphasizes the point that Kitty Pryde and her team are not to be taken lightly.

x-men gold 3 foiled

Despite her silly new code-name (Prestige Worldwide), Rachel Grey also steps up early into the series. Her “psi-fight” with Mesmero is a delightful highlight from the issue. Having established the older characters already as the weathered war heroes that they are, now is the time for readers to get to know the young students.

It’s a real shame that artist Ardian Syaf created such controversy and will no longer be with the team. Syaf’s art really makes these pages sing, picking up the script’s tempo and running with it. The art team plays a significant role in portraying Kitty Pryde as the bad-ass leader. It’s a major relief for readers who last saw her during her romance with Peter Quill.

Frank Martin’s coloring is crucial in making this book in particular feel like home for old-school X-Men fans. X-Men: Gold is still a relatively dark visual experience compared to X-Men: Blue, but Martin sheds light through color and balances out the heavy ink.

x-men gold 3 group

With three X-Men titles having come out last week (due to delay), Gold didn’t necessarily stand out. Being the only X-title this week did it plenty of favors, allowing readers to take their time absorbing it. Blue is catching everybody off-guard by how great it is, keeping these two titles apart is a must with the double-shipping schedule to let them both truly breathe.

Now that we’ve gotten the starter course out of the way, the team established, and the world full of fear, let’s get weird. X-Men: Gold is absolutely worth the time of any X-Men fan.

What do you think so far? Which ResurreXion series do you like the most so far? Let us know in the comments below!

Save 50% on graphic novels, statues & more!

TRENDING THIS WEEK

What A Dangerous World In WONDER WOMAN COME BACK TO ME #3

Wonder Woman Come Back to Me #3 forces Wonder Woman into a setting where she can’t use her powers to solve everything. It’s a refreshing take on a character we all know and love.

Review: YEAR OF THE VILLAIN: LEX LUTHOR #1 – Another Year, Another Ode To A Classic Villain

Year Of The Villain: Lex Luthor #1 is a strong collaborative effort that is a true celebration of one of the most complex villains...

Interview: Scout Comics CCO James Pruett Talks ‘MIDNIGHT SKY’ And All Things Scout

Scout Comics has been on the rise for a while now. With a truly diverse set of titles that range in all sorts of...

Review: An Ending And A New Beginning In FAITHLESS #6

Faithless #6 from BOOM! Studios, is a thought provoking, love letter to fashion, theatre, and Art. A gorgeous end to the first, exhilarating arc.

A Dark King Rises In ONCE & FUTURE #2

Once & Future #2 continues the warped legend of King Arthur. This is a story that will leave you looking for more while chilling you to the bone.

Review: The Expansion Never Ends in STRAYED #2

Strayed #2 continues Lou’s tale, providing brilliant artwork and many of the answers to questions fans have been asking about the series.

FIREFLY #9 Shows How The Past Is Never Far Behind

Firefly #9 is a poignant reminder that no matter how far Malcolm Reynolds runs, he’ll never escape his past. This dark issue is perfect for fans of Mal and Zoe.

Review: SUPERGIRL #34 Crashing Back To Earth In Style

This is a return to form in Supergirl #34 from DC Comics, with a creative team who are comfortable working together. Back to Earth and back to basics.
Avatar
Brandon J. Griffin - Comic Book Critichttps://twitter.com/griffunk
New Jersey scum who worships comic books like religious literature. Yell at me on Twitter @griffunk

SPONSORS

If you want your BUSINESS to be part of something bigger than itself, you might be a good fit to partner with Monkeys Fighting Robots.

Kitty & Co. Make A Statement In 'X-Men: Gold' #3 3

CONTACT US

Kitty & Co. Make A Statement In 'X-Men: Gold' #3 4

Are you a creator looking for a review of your book?
Use the form below to end us a message.

Are you a fan of the website and have a comment, question, or concern? Drop us a line, and we will gladly answer all your questions.

JOIN THE TEAM

Monkeys Fighting Robots is looking for passionate writers to drive the site’s coverage of the comic book industry. Authors will be responsible for a particular niche, providing reviews, opinion and news coverage, while building a reader community using his or her multimedia storytelling skills. The best candidates have solid writing skills, WordPress knowledge, and are engaged on social media. Do you love comic books and have a strong opinion, then we would like to speak with you.

Kitty & Co. Make A Statement In 'X-Men: Gold' #3 5

MEET THE TEAM

COMIC REVIEW DIGEST, sign up today! At Monkeys Fighting Robots, we strive to talk about ALL aspects of a comic book, instead of just giving you a recap of the story.
  • Did you notice how epic the colors were?
  • That was a wicked panel layout by the artist!
  • What was the letterer thinking?
  • How did this comic book make you feel?
  • Most importantly, should you buy it?

Every Wednesday you will receive an email with our latest reviews and analyses, as well as our original comic strips and exclusive editorial content.
Thanks for signing up!