Review: Get Spooky With RED SONJA AND VAMPIRELLA MEET BETTY AND VERONICA #1

FIRST IMPRESSION

RED SONJA AND VAMPIRELLA MEET BETTY AND VERONICA #1 is a fun crossover event. It makes about as much sense as your average Scooby Doo episode, but there's definitely a level of charm to it. If the premise sounds enticing, you'll probably enjoy it.
Writing
Dialogue
Pencils/Inks
Coloring
Lettering
- Advertisement -

Red Sonja and Vampirella Meet Betty and Veronica #1 feels simultaneously like a strange mashup, and a no-brainer.

The characters seem to have little crossover appeal at first glance. However, the book draws on the recent popularity of Archie-verse titles on the Archie Horror imprint like The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina and Afterlife with Archie. Add to that other recent pairings like Harley and Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica, and it starts to make more sense.

The Writing

With Red Sonja and Vampirella Meet Betty and Veronica #1, we see Sonja and Vampirella go undercover as new transfer students trying to fit in at Riverdale High. Meanwhile, the pair works alongside Betty and Veronica to crack a series of murders with supernatural overtones.

We’re told from the beginning that Vampirella’s old foes, the Cult of Chaos, are behind the killings. The mystery takes a backseat, though, to your standard “fish out of water in high school” story. Amy Chu’s writing is tongue-in-cheek, as one would expect with a story like this. Sonja is the self-serious stoic, while Vampirella is much more willing to play along with the high school dynamics.

- Advertisement -

On one hand, dialogue and interactions can feel stiff and uninspired at points. It also seems odd to see Sonja cast-off her “too cool for school” posture after developing an interest in football. Overall, though, Sonja and Vampirella have fun chemistry with one another and with Betty and Veronica. This constitutes the main appeal of Red Sonja and Vampirella Meet Betty and Veronica #1.

It’s a fun story that strikes a balance between supernatural detective story and high school slice-of-life. Chu manages to balance these two aspects well to be funny, without slipping too much into farce.

Readers can expect to see more of the horror element develop as the story progresses and introduces the Cult of Chaos in a more significant role. For now, though, this is a respectable introduction for a novel crossover.

The Artwork

Maria Sanapo provides solid artwork for Red Sonja and Vampirella Meet Betty and Veronica #1. Panels tend to be tightly-focused on our characters, meaning there is little in terms of background and setting. However, the lines flow smoothly from one panel to the next, and her character designs feel fairly animated.

One point that does fall a bit flat is in the expressions. There are points at which characters’ features feel lifeless, or strike the wrong tone for the moment. Though it’s not a consistent issue, certain panels can lack the intended impact due to mismatched expressions.

Vinicius Andrade provides heavy, shadowy tones for the first half of Red Sonja and Vampirella Meet Betty and Veronica #1. It’s a suitable choice, underscoring the more sinister tone of the larger story.

Final Thoughts

Readers will come away from Red Sonja and Vampirella Meet Betty and Veronica #1 getting exactly what they expect based on the title. If it sounds fun, then you’ll enjoy it.

Save 50% on graphic novels, statues & more!

TRENDING THIS WEEK

FIREFLY #9 Shows How The Past Is Never Far Behind

Firefly #9 is a poignant reminder that no matter how far Malcolm Reynolds runs, he’ll never escape his past. This dark issue is perfect for fans of Mal and Zoe.

Review: SPIDER-MAN #1 – J.J Abrams And Henry Abrams Take Spidey In A Bold New Direction

Spider-Man #1 by J.J. Abrams, Henry Abrams, Sara Pichelli, Elisabetta D'Amico, Dave Stewart and Joe Caramagna is an intriguing and beautifully illustrated book that...

Review: SUPERGIRL #34 Crashing Back To Earth In Style

This is a return to form in Supergirl #34 from DC Comics, with a creative team who are comfortable working together. Back to Earth and back to basics.

Interview: BRYAN EDWARD HILL Talks About The Vampire With A Soul

Bryan Edward Hill talks about his Angel run for BOOM! Studios and his intentions on pushing the narrative in exciting and surprising ways.

A Dark and Deadly Tale Begins In NOMEN OMEN #1

Nomen Omen #1 is the start of a dark and disturbing series from Image Comics. It's a tale of the supernatural coming after what is their due, and so much more.

Review: Depression’s Effects On Relationships Explored In MIDDLEWEST #11

MIDDLEWEST's angsty protagonist Abel is on a mission to find a way to deal with the uncontrollable power inside of him. Led into The...

AfterShock Exclusive Preview: DARK ARK: AFTER THE FLOOD #1

Dark Ark: After The Flood #1 kicks off the Halloween season on October 2, but thanks to AfterShock Comics, Monkeys Fighting Robots has a...

Review: The Cavalry Arrives In ABSOLUTE CARNAGE #3

Absolute Carnage #3 continues the series’ exceptional start and the whole team continues to impress
Avatar
David DeCorte
David DeCorte covers comic book, entertainment, pop culture, and business news for multiple outlets. He is also a sci-fi writer, and is currently working on his first full-length book. Originally from San Diego, he now lives in Tampa.

SPONSORS

If you want your BUSINESS to be part of something bigger than itself, you might be a good fit to partner with Monkeys Fighting Robots.

Review: Get Spooky With RED SONJA AND VAMPIRELLA MEET BETTY AND VERONICA #1 3

CONTACT US

Review: Get Spooky With RED SONJA AND VAMPIRELLA MEET BETTY AND VERONICA #1 4

Are you a creator looking for a review of your book?
Use the form below to end us a message.

Are you a fan of the website and have a comment, question, or concern? Drop us a line, and we will gladly answer all your questions.

JOIN THE TEAM

Monkeys Fighting Robots is looking for passionate writers to drive the site’s coverage of the comic book industry. Authors will be responsible for a particular niche, providing reviews, opinion and news coverage, while building a reader community using his or her multimedia storytelling skills. The best candidates have solid writing skills, WordPress knowledge, and are engaged on social media. Do you love comic books and have a strong opinion, then we would like to speak with you.

Review: Get Spooky With RED SONJA AND VAMPIRELLA MEET BETTY AND VERONICA #1 5

MEET THE TEAM

COMIC REVIEW DIGEST, sign up today! At Monkeys Fighting Robots, we strive to talk about ALL aspects of a comic book, instead of just giving you a recap of the story.
  • Did you notice how epic the colors were?
  • That was a wicked panel layout by the artist!
  • What was the letterer thinking?
  • How did this comic book make you feel?
  • Most importantly, should you buy it?

Every Wednesday you will receive an email with our latest reviews and analyses, as well as our original comic strips and exclusive editorial content.
Thanks for signing up!