Review: Daredevil #11 – Omega Effect conclusion!

- Advertisement -

Daredevil #11
Writer:  Mark Waid
Art:  Marco Checchetto, Matt Hollingsworth [Colorist]

Review:  Daredevil #11 - Omega Effect conclusion! 1Mark Waid wraps up his Avenging Spider-Man/Punisher/Daredevil “Omega Effect” crossover with Greg Rucka in Daredevil #11 with all of the elements that made the first two parts of the story so damn good intact.

Daredevil, having the Omega Drive (a nigh-indestructible drive made from unstable molecules and possessing intel on all of the Marvel Universe’s “Megacrime” cartels), teamed up with Spider-Man and the two formed an uneasy alliance with the Punisher and his ally, Rachel Cole-Alves.  The goal of this alliance was simple–they would all lure out members of A.I.M., Hyrdra, Agence Byzantine, the Secret Empire, and the Exchange so that they could destroy the Omega Drive in front of them.  Also, Punisher and Alves had to promise to use rubber bullets and not kill anyone because killing isn’t really Spider-Man or Daredevil’s thing.

Unfortunately, things didn’t go according to plan.  Alves, a former Marine whose husband was murdered by the Exchange on her wedding day, double-crossed Daredevil as he was about to destroy the drive–giving him a rubber bullet to the back and escaping with the drive herself.  With Punisher covering their exit, Spider-Man and Daredevil split up to find Alves and retrieve the drive.

- Advertisement -

Waid does a stellar job of presenting the story from Daredevil’s perspective (it is DD’s book, after all), exploring how Matt Murdock feels that he failed the Punisher by never being able to pull him back from the proverbial ledge before he went all the way over.  Feeling he can do the same for Alves, we’ve seen Murdock try to talk sense into her once before in this crossover (during Rucka’s Punisher #10).  Whether or not he gets through in this issue remains to be seen.

Marco Checchetto and Matt Hollingsworth continue to deliver the goods artistically.  There really isn’t much I can say about it that I didn’t already touch on in my reviews for Avenging Spider-Man #6 and Punisher #10, so check those out, too.

What are you still reading this review for?  GO PICK UP THIS CROSSOVER!

STORY:  10/10
ART:  10/10 

Save 50% on graphic novels, statues & more!

TRENDING THIS WEEK

FIREFLY #9 Shows How The Past Is Never Far Behind

Firefly #9 is a poignant reminder that no matter how far Malcolm Reynolds runs, he’ll never escape his past. This dark issue is perfect for fans of Mal and Zoe.

Review: AQUAMAN #52 And Aqualad’s Loss Of Innocence

Readers last saw Arthur Curry facing down a monstrous oceanic creature on Amnesty Island, the proposed new home for his Old God friends. The...

Review: SPIDER-MAN #1 – J.J Abrams And Henry Abrams Take Spidey In A Bold New Direction

Spider-Man #1 by J.J. Abrams, Henry Abrams, Sara Pichelli, Elisabetta D'Amico, Dave Stewart and Joe Caramagna is an intriguing and beautifully illustrated book that...

Lobo’s Kid Snaps In Our Exclusive First Look At TEEN TITANS #34

Teen Titans #34 hits your local comic book store on September 18, but thanks to DC Comics, Monkeys Fighting Robots has an exclusive five-page...

Review: POWERS OF X #4: The Introduction Of The Sassiest Sinister

Jonathon Hickman’s House of X and Powers of X stories are proving to be classics and Powers of X #4 is no exception. Hickman’s...

A Dark King Rises In ONCE & FUTURE #2

Once & Future #2 continues the warped legend of King Arthur. This is a story that will leave you looking for more while chilling you to the bone.

A Dark and Deadly Tale Begins In NOMEN OMEN #1

Nomen Omen #1 is the start of a dark and disturbing series from Image Comics. It's a tale of the supernatural coming after what is their due, and so much more.

GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY #9 – The Universal Chuch Of Action

This week Marvel unleashes GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY #9 upon their faithful cosmic followers. Donny Cates delivers another heavy metal soaked script that artist Cory Smith packages in a fast-paced and action-packed issue.
Avatar
Roger Riddell
Essentially Peter Parker with all the charm of Wolverine, he's a DC-based B2B journalist who occasionally writes about music and pop culture in his free time. His love for comics, metal, and videogames has also landed him gigs writing for the A.V. Club, Comic Book Resources, and Louisville Magazine. Keep him away from the whiskey, and don't ask him how much he hates the Spider-Man movies unless you're ready to hear about his overarching plot for a six-film series that would put the Dark Knight trilogy to shame.

SPONSORS

If you want your BUSINESS to be part of something bigger than itself, you might be a good fit to partner with Monkeys Fighting Robots.

Review:  Daredevil #11 - Omega Effect conclusion! 4

CONTACT US

Review:  Daredevil #11 - Omega Effect conclusion! 5

Are you a creator looking for a review of your book?
Use the form below to end us a message.

Are you a fan of the website and have a comment, question, or concern? Drop us a line, and we will gladly answer all your questions.

JOIN THE TEAM

Monkeys Fighting Robots is looking for passionate writers to drive the site’s coverage of the comic book industry. Authors will be responsible for a particular niche, providing reviews, opinion and news coverage, while building a reader community using his or her multimedia storytelling skills. The best candidates have solid writing skills, WordPress knowledge, and are engaged on social media. Do you love comic books and have a strong opinion, then we would like to speak with you.

Review:  Daredevil #11 - Omega Effect conclusion! 6

MEET THE TEAM

COMIC REVIEW DIGEST, sign up today! At Monkeys Fighting Robots, we strive to talk about ALL aspects of a comic book, instead of just giving you a recap of the story.
  • Did you notice how epic the colors were?
  • That was a wicked panel layout by the artist!
  • What was the letterer thinking?
  • How did this comic book make you feel?
  • Most importantly, should you buy it?

Every Wednesday you will receive an email with our latest reviews and analyses, as well as our original comic strips and exclusive editorial content.
Thanks for signing up!