Review: BATTLEPUG #1 Is A Hysterical, Pug-filled Adventure

FIRST IMPRESSION

Norton doesn't pull any punches in this story; the entertaining allusions to our current political climate are right in your face.
Writing/Story
Pencils/Inks
Colors
Letters
- Advertisement -

Mike Norton’s popular comic is moving from the webcomic space into its own recurring series at Image Comics. Available on Wednesday, September 4, BATTLEPUG #1 stars the Kinmundian, the last survivor from a race of warrior who were brutally murdered by an overlord named Catwulf, and his Battlpug, a giant pug who serves as his trusty steed. This issue features the duo’s next adventure following the defeat of Catwulf in the webcomic. They’ve picked up some friends and are ready to travel world, most likely running into plenty of hysterical trouble along the way.

Story

The Kinmundian and the Battlepug embark upon their new journey with the mage Moll and her dogs named Mingo and Colfax. Moll has taken it upon herself to help the battle-worn warrior embrace his dormant beast mage power, a skill that will allow him to assume the abilities of the animal kingdom.

While exploring the group runs across the village of Ashkum, which is in desperate need of some saving. Their current leader, Jofel, rules the citizens with an iron fist through a sock puppet named Coufefe. While the absurdity is plenty entertaining, readers will almost certainly catch the reference to two of the world’s most powerful men: Donald Trump and Vladimir Putin.

Norton doesn’t pull any punches in this story; the entertaining allusions to our current political climate are right in your face. Jofel is a spitting image of the shirtless Putin meme popularized by outlets such as Saturday Night Live; the fact that the orange-haired Coufefe is fully controlled by the other only makes the allegory that much more hilarious.

- Advertisement -

The Kinmundian picks a fight with Jofel and chaos ensues. We see the overlord transform into a half-bear creature, showcasing the impressive beast mage abilities our hero has so coveted. Now the warrior, along with Battlepug, must liberate the town and discover the secret to his antagonist’s transformation.

Artwork

Norton and Allen Passalaqua’s penciling, inking, and coloring help give this issue all the mix of beauty and horror in classic adventure stories. One minute readers are treated to beautiful landscapes and the next they find themselves in the middle of a bloody battle between the Kinmundian and Jofel. In addition, the lettering work from Crank! gives these characters a relatable voice; the bolded words sprinkled throughout their dialogue features emotions of distress, panic, and joy as they interact with their world.

Comic Covers

Norton and Paassalaqua’s main comic book cover entices readers by featuring the heroic team of the Kinmundian and his Battlepug charging into battle. Chris Samnee and Matt Wilson’s variant cover depicts the duo in a similar position, but in a more realistic style to show us what a real giant pug would look like in our world.

Conclusion

BATTLEPUG #1 is an exiting story full of intrigue, hilarity, and thoughtfulness. It’s rare to see such a balance of these qualities, but Norton, Passalaqua, and team hit this one out of the park.

Did you enjoy the thinly-veiled allegories made throughout this story? Let us know in the comments below!

Review: BATTLEPUG #1 Is A Hysterical, Pug-filled Adventure
Review: BATTLEPUG #1 Is A Hysterical, Pug-filled Adventure 1

Mike Norton's popular comic is moving from the webcomic space into its own recurring series at Image Comics. Available on Wednesday, September 4, BATTLEPUG

Editor's Rating:
4.1
Save 50% on graphic novels, statues & more!

TRENDING THIS WEEK

Review: THE BLACK GHOST#1 Excellently Mixes Noir, Mystery and Vigilantes

The Black Ghost #1, published by ComiXology, and created by Alex Segura, Monica Gallagher, Marco Finnegan, George Kambadias, Ellie Wright and Taylor Esposito perfectly...

Meet The Next Guardians Of The Galaxy In BLACK PANTHER AND THE AGENTS OF WAKANDA #1

You might not know a lot about the Agents of Wakanda right now but it’s only a matter of time before some of them become breakout stars. 

Review: AQUAMAN #52 And Aqualad’s Loss Of Innocence

Readers last saw Arthur Curry facing down a monstrous oceanic creature on Amnesty Island, the proposed new home for his Old God friends. The...

Sailing Away With Bat & Cat in BATMAN #78

After the shocker presented in our last issue, few readers may be ready for what we find in Batman #78, out this week from...

Review: Depression’s Effects On Relationships Explored In MIDDLEWEST #11

MIDDLEWEST's angsty protagonist Abel is on a mission to find a way to deal with the uncontrollable power inside of him. Led into The...

Frank Miller And The Dark Knight: Together Again

He's currently chronicling the adventures of the Man of Steel in Superman Year One, but it seems Frank Miller's heart will always bring him...

Review: Sending a Message to Bane in BATMAN #79

Bruce and Selina’s beach vacation continues in Batman #79, out this week from DC Comics. Occurring before the events of Batman #77, we see...

FIREFLY #9 Shows How The Past Is Never Far Behind

Firefly #9 is a poignant reminder that no matter how far Malcolm Reynolds runs, he’ll never escape his past. This dark issue is perfect for fans of Mal and Zoe.
Avatar
Corey Patterson
A comic book nerd and reviewer with a special interest in the underlying themes of superhero, sci-fi and fantasy stories. He enjoys writing for Monkeys Fighting Robots, Pop Culture and Theology and other publications.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

SPONSORS

If you want your BUSINESS to be part of something bigger than itself, you might be a good fit to partner with Monkeys Fighting Robots.

Review: BATTLEPUG #1 Is A Hysterical, Pug-filled Adventure 4

CONTACT US

Review: BATTLEPUG #1 Is A Hysterical, Pug-filled Adventure 5

Are you a creator looking for a review of your book?
Use the form below to end us a message.

Are you a fan of the website and have a comment, question, or concern? Drop us a line, and we will gladly answer all your questions.

JOIN THE TEAM

Monkeys Fighting Robots is looking for passionate writers to drive the site’s coverage of the comic book industry. Authors will be responsible for a particular niche, providing reviews, opinion and news coverage, while building a reader community using his or her multimedia storytelling skills. The best candidates have solid writing skills, WordPress knowledge, and are engaged on social media. Do you love comic books and have a strong opinion, then we would like to speak with you.

Review: BATTLEPUG #1 Is A Hysterical, Pug-filled Adventure 6

MEET THE TEAM

COMIC REVIEW DIGEST, sign up today! At Monkeys Fighting Robots, we strive to talk about ALL aspects of a comic book, instead of just giving you a recap of the story.
  • Did you notice how epic the colors were?
  • That was a wicked panel layout by the artist!
  • What was the letterer thinking?
  • How did this comic book make you feel?
  • Most importantly, should you buy it?

Every Wednesday you will receive an email with our latest reviews and analyses, as well as our original comic strips and exclusive editorial content.
Thanks for signing up!