Monkeys Fighting Robots T-shirt store

Preview: GHOSTS ARE PEOPLE TOO Is “Charmingly Spooky”

[Editor's Note] If you like what we do, please consider becoming a patron. Thank you.

Become a Patron!

Peter Ricq’s book GHOSTS ARE PEOPLE TOO is currently on Kickstarter, and it’s perfect for fans of Jill Thompson’s SCARY GODMOTHER or Neil Gaiman’s THE GRAVEYARD BOOK.

The 42-page, all-ages illustrated book is the first prose work from Ricq. It’s the story of a simple ordinary ghost named Ethan Alby.

About GHOSTS ARE PEOPLE TOO:
Ethan has a family—just like you. He likes playing with toys and his dog, Mini Ricky. Sometimes, though, Ethan gets scared. In GHOSTS ARE PEOPLE TOO, Ethan shares what scares him, how difficult it is to share a home with a living girl he’s fallen for (when she doesn’t even know he exists), and why we shouldn’t be afraid of one another.

“Halloween season has been my favorite season since I was a child,” said Ricq. “It had a sense of danger and adventure and that feeling has never dissipated since. I remember watching Fright Night and The Thing from Outer Space coming home from Trick or Treating when I was around 7 years old and those moments of counting your treats along with the excitement of monsters on the TV was so magical, more so than any other holiday. I’ve since always had a touch of horror, danger, and adventure in my work since.”

You can check out GHOSTS ARE PEOPLE TOO on Kickstarter right here.

And read on for a preview of the book:

ghosts are people too preview

ghosts are people too preview

Monkeys Fighting Robots T-shirt store

ghosts are people too preview

ghosts are people too preview

ghosts are people too preview

ghosts are people too preview

ghosts are people too preview
A “doodle book” is one of the rewards offered by the campaign.

What people are saying about GHOSTS ARE PEOPLE TOO:

“Charmingly strange, scary and sweet, GHOSTS ARE PEOPLE TOO gives you an Edward Gorey style tale with nods to classic and contemporary creepy crawlies. A lot of fun if you have anyone in your life who likes their spookiness with a little heart (not a literal one!) and great for kids who like theirs stories on the darker side.”
—Mariah McCourt (Ash & Thorn)

“GHOSTS ARE PEOPLE TOO is beautifully drawn, well designed and very fun! Just the book to “liven up” your spooky Halloween season.”
—Johnnie Christmas (Tartarus)

“Ricq’s vision of compromise between the human and spectral realms is both disturbing and endearing!”
—Simon Royal (Habitat)

“Like perusing an album of haunted photographs, GHOSTS ARE PEOPLE TOO is a fitting book for the samhain season. Reading it will send you strolling through your local cemetery, or make you brave enough to purchase that cursed talisman you’ve been eyeing since your last blood ritual.”
—Samuel Sattin (Bezkamp)

“Sweet, unsettlingly adorable.”
—Christopher Golden (Baltimore)

“Peter Ricq’s GHOSTS ARE PEOPLE TOO is a gorgeous book that brings to mind the best of Edward Gorey. Filled with stunning artwork and a charming story, it is a sincere, beautiful and imaginative love letter to the gothic and bizarre.”
—David Gallaher (High Moon)

“Just in time for me to get into the Halloween spirit, a being from the great beyond brought this delicious creepfest into my seance room! No, seriously, it is awesome! Help it manifest into our astral plane.”
— Stephan Franck (Silver)

Avatar
Anthony Composto - EIC
Editor-in-Chief for Monkeys Fighting Robots. A lifelong fan of Spider-Man and the Mets, Anthony loves an underdog story. He earned his B.A. in English because of his love for words, and his MBA because of his need for cash. He considers comics to be The Great American Art Form, and loves horror movies, indie dramas, action/thrillers, and everything in between.