[Review] JUSTICE LEAGUE #19 Enters the Sixth Dimension with Mr. Mxyzptlk

FIRST IMPRESSION

Thanks to top notch storytelling from Scott Snyder and artistry by Jorge Jiménez, JUSTICE LEAGUE #19 continues to prove its worth as one of the top current DC titles to read.
Writing/Story
Pencils/Ink
Colors
Lettering
- Advertisement -

Teased back in December of last year, JUSTICE LEAGUE #19 is the first part in Snyder and Jiménez’s storyline The Sixth Dimension, where the League is pit against older versions of themselves, courtesy of Mxyzptlk.

Justice League 19 Cover

This first issue of the event is, to me, a much needed respite from the overarching (and sometimes overwhelming) story involving The Source Wall. Huge revelations were made, and the team is now one step closer on their journey to saving everything. But before the Justice League can make their way to this sixth dimension, they must first deal with an utterly unhinged Mr. Mxyzptlk.

**Some Spoilers Below**

Story:

- Advertisement -

“The Sixth Dimension” part one! At last, the Justice League has the map to the Sixth Dimension in hand—and with it, they have the key to saving the Multiverse from utter destruction! But things aren’t as simple as they seem, because they still need to get to the doorway—and to do that, they’ll have to go through the only being in all of existence who can get them there: Mr. Mxyzptlk!

After doling out justice at various places in the cosmos, as well as uncovering more of the mystery of The Source Wall, the core members of the league (now with more Starman) are finally back together. They now have a plan to prevent Lex Luthor from awaking Perpetua, and bringing about the end of the Multiverse.

In JUSTICE LEAGUE #19, Scott Snyder once again delivers on his quest to completely change the DC Universe. He does so by utilizing Mr. Mxyzptlk in a way that has rarely been seen before. This is a Mxy who, if given the chance, could take down every single member of the Justice League in a manner of minutes. The way that Snyder chose to write this, a sequence in which Mxyzptlk brings familiar buildings to monstrous life while manipulating the reality of some of the League members, is both entertaining and horrifying.

The dialogue is worth noting, too. I couldn’t help but smile at Superman’s moments with his signature messages of hope. Where Snyder excels is in his exposition, particularly when Mxyzptlk reveals information about his fifth dimension, as well as the newly unveiled sixth.

Justice League 19 Page 6

Art:

Jorge Jiménez creates some wonderful visuals in this issue. From something like the angle and curvature of Metropolis as Superman flies through it, to a beautiful spread containing imagery of the League, the Multiverse, and the Sixth Dimension, Jimenez masterfully lays out panels that are unique and intricate.

It all comes together with the colors of Alejandro Sanchez, particularly in the background of the panels. Standouts include the pinks and purples of inter-dimensional space, the whites and beige of the Hall of Justice, and the glowing and glittering look of the new, elder Superman.

Conclusion:

Snyder and co continue to make JUSTICE LEAGUE a great book to read, with a high concept story, sincere heroes, terrifying villains, intriguing revelations, and captivating artwork. If you’re a fan of this run of JUSTICE LEAGUE, this issue will not disappoint. Conversely, it will get you excited with what’s to come, both as an introduction to the “The Sixth Dimension” event, as well as a continuation of the overarching Source Wall story.

What did you think of Mister Mxyzptlk in JUSTICE LEAGUE #19? Let us know in the comments!

Save 50% on graphic novels, statues & more!

TRENDING THIS WEEK

Review: An Ending And A New Beginning In FAITHLESS #6

Faithless #6 from BOOM! Studios, is a thought provoking, love letter to fashion, theatre, and Art. A gorgeous end to the first, exhilarating arc.

A Dark and Deadly Tale Begins In NOMEN OMEN #1

Nomen Omen #1 is the start of a dark and disturbing series from Image Comics. It's a tale of the supernatural coming after what is their due, and so much more.

GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY #9 – The Universal Chuch Of Action

This week Marvel unleashes GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY #9 upon their faithful cosmic followers. Donny Cates delivers another heavy metal soaked script that artist Cory Smith packages in a fast-paced and action-packed issue.

HOUSE OF X #5 – Get Ready For Your Mind To Be Blown

This week Marvel's mutant mania continues with HOUSE OF X #5. Jonathan Hickman's brain keeps spilling brilliance right into our hearts and minds, this chapter is particularly creative.

Meet The Next Guardians Of The Galaxy In BLACK PANTHER AND THE AGENTS OF WAKANDA #1

You might not know a lot about the Agents of Wakanda right now but it’s only a matter of time before some of them become breakout stars. 

Cosmic Ghost Rider Gets Gamma Bombed In Our AVENGERS #24 Exclusive Preview

Avengers #24 hits your local comic shop next week on September 25, but thanks to Marvel Comics, Monkeys Fighting Robots has an exclusive four-page...

Review: The Expansion Never Ends in STRAYED #2

Strayed #2 continues Lou’s tale, providing brilliant artwork and many of the answers to questions fans have been asking about the series.

FIREFLY #9 Shows How The Past Is Never Far Behind

Firefly #9 is a poignant reminder that no matter how far Malcolm Reynolds runs, he’ll never escape his past. This dark issue is perfect for fans of Mal and Zoe.
Avatar
Michael Frommhttps://www.michaelefromm.com/
Michael E. Fromm is an all-around scrivener, writing screenplays (short and feature), short stories, novels, poetry, blogs, articles, and press releases. Since first learning to hold a pen, he has done little but read, watch, and write about characters and worlds of fantasy. It would be very difficult to find him without a pen in hand and an idea in mind, which is problematic for anyone wanting to have a conversation with him. Michael graduated from Rowan University, primarily focusing on improving his skills as a filmmaker and screenwriter. After said schooling, he joined an elite force of Rowan grads who also had the notion of becoming filmmakers. This group, known as Justice Productions, call on him every so often to write short films. And, until this whole writing thing pays off, Michael currently does development & marketing communication (writing, graphic & publication design, social media and website upkeep, etc.) for a web development company in Central New Jersey, where he currently resides.

SPONSORS

If you want your BUSINESS to be part of something bigger than itself, you might be a good fit to partner with Monkeys Fighting Robots.

[Review] JUSTICE LEAGUE #19 Enters the Sixth Dimension with Mr. Mxyzptlk 3

CONTACT US

[Review] JUSTICE LEAGUE #19 Enters the Sixth Dimension with Mr. Mxyzptlk 4

Are you a creator looking for a review of your book?
Use the form below to end us a message.

Are you a fan of the website and have a comment, question, or concern? Drop us a line, and we will gladly answer all your questions.

JOIN THE TEAM

Monkeys Fighting Robots is looking for passionate writers to drive the site’s coverage of the comic book industry. Authors will be responsible for a particular niche, providing reviews, opinion and news coverage, while building a reader community using his or her multimedia storytelling skills. The best candidates have solid writing skills, WordPress knowledge, and are engaged on social media. Do you love comic books and have a strong opinion, then we would like to speak with you.

[Review] JUSTICE LEAGUE #19 Enters the Sixth Dimension with Mr. Mxyzptlk 5

MEET THE TEAM

COMIC REVIEW DIGEST, sign up today! At Monkeys Fighting Robots, we strive to talk about ALL aspects of a comic book, instead of just giving you a recap of the story.
  • Did you notice how epic the colors were?
  • That was a wicked panel layout by the artist!
  • What was the letterer thinking?
  • How did this comic book make you feel?
  • Most importantly, should you buy it?

Every Wednesday you will receive an email with our latest reviews and analyses, as well as our original comic strips and exclusive editorial content.
Thanks for signing up!