DAREDEVIL #7 – Hell’s Kitchen Evolves

FIRST IMPRESSION

Zdarsky's DAREDEVIL is top-notch storytelling.
Writing/Story
Pencils/Inks
Coloring
Lettering
- Advertisement -

Chip Zdarsky’s stellar DAREDEVIL run continues with issue #7. Matt Murdock, now retired, has a copycat running around to deal with.

DAREDEVIL 7 CVR

***SPOILERS LIE AHEAD***

 

Matt Murdock is living the closest thing to regular life as he can. He’s focused on his day job, his friendships, and a potential librarian love interest. Detective Cole is recovering, both mentally and physically, before returning to duty. Kingpin reveals he is stepping away from his criminal empire.

- Advertisement -

In all of Marvel’s many superheroes, Daredevil might be the one that’s most entertaining away from the vigilantism. His struggles with religion, blindness, relationships, and profession are compelling more often than not.

It’s no different with Chip Zdarsky behind the wheel, he knows exactly what buttons to push in order to extract the right drama from Matt Murdock and his supporting cast. The themes in Daredevil #7 are far from new, but Zdarsky gives them a fresh spin, taking full advantage of the current landscape Hell’s Kitchen finds itself in.

DAREDEVIL #7 - Hell's Kitchen Evolves 1

Daredevil #7 is very much about transitions and development, Zdarsky is moving the pieces on the narrative board but without halting the pace. Kingpin’s announcement was every bit the shocker it needed to be, he’ll be very interesting to follow going forward–especially when Horn Head inevitably comes back.

The citizen-Daredevil subplot and Detective Cole’s role, now release from the hospital, should make for a highly entertaining conflict. Chip Zdarsky has this book loaded with threads that are all worth pulling on.

Matt coming face-to-face with the brother of Daredevil’s victim was a powerfully executed scene. The heartbeat text getting bigger and bigger as he seeks relief in the bathroom. Not having Matt’s eyes to use forces the creative team to share his emotions and distress in more creative ways.

DAREDEVIL #7 - Hell's Kitchen Evolves 2

The final page of this issue is absolutely dynamite, another brilliant use of text. Murdock can’t help but contribute in any way to protecting the city. He is now the city’s ears, reporting any crimes that come across his heightened sense of hearing. It’s a fantastic character moment to end the issue on.

Full marks to the creative team of Lalit Kumar Sharma (pencils), Jay Leisten (inks), Java Tartaglia (colors), and Clayton Cowles (letters). The only knock against the art is the piss-poor size of Hammerhead’s one recognizable feature–his head.

Daredevil continues to be one of the best books Marvel is putting out. It doesn’t rely on over-the-top superhero action or even much comedy. Zdarsky is delivering a compelling story and continuing to show that he’s a superstar talent.

Save 50% on graphic novels, statues & more!

TRENDING THIS WEEK

FIREFLY #9 Shows How The Past Is Never Far Behind

Firefly #9 is a poignant reminder that no matter how far Malcolm Reynolds runs, he’ll never escape his past. This dark issue is perfect for fans of Mal and Zoe.

A Dark King Rises In ONCE & FUTURE #2

Once & Future #2 continues the warped legend of King Arthur. This is a story that will leave you looking for more while chilling you to the bone.

What A Dangerous World In WONDER WOMAN COME BACK TO ME #3

Wonder Woman Come Back to Me #3 forces Wonder Woman into a setting where she can’t use her powers to solve everything. It’s a refreshing take on a character we all know and love.

AfterShock Exclusive Preview: DARK ARK: AFTER THE FLOOD #1

Dark Ark: After The Flood #1 kicks off the Halloween season on October 2, but thanks to AfterShock Comics, Monkeys Fighting Robots has a...

Review: THE BLACK GHOST#1 Excellently Mixes Noir, Mystery and Vigilantes

The Black Ghost #1, published by ComiXology, and created by Alex Segura, Monica Gallagher, Marco Finnegan, George Kambadias, Ellie Wright and Taylor Esposito perfectly...

Review: YEAR OF THE VILLAIN: LEX LUTHOR #1 – Another Year, Another Ode To A Classic Villain

Year Of The Villain: Lex Luthor #1 is a strong collaborative effort that is a true celebration of one of the most complex villains...

Cosmic Ghost Rider Gets Gamma Bombed In Our AVENGERS #24 Exclusive Preview

Avengers #24 hits your local comic shop next week on September 25, but thanks to Marvel Comics, Monkeys Fighting Robots has an exclusive four-page...

Review: It’s Alive’s PINK LEMONADE Mashes Kirby & Knievel

It takes a special kind of talent to be retro without being repetitive. Too often comics that harken back to the Silver Age just...
Avatar
Brandon J. Griffin - Comic Book Critichttps://twitter.com/griffunk
New Jersey scum who worships comic books like religious literature. Yell at me on Twitter @griffunk

SPONSORS

If you want your BUSINESS to be part of something bigger than itself, you might be a good fit to partner with Monkeys Fighting Robots.

DAREDEVIL #7 - Hell's Kitchen Evolves 6

CONTACT US

DAREDEVIL #7 - Hell's Kitchen Evolves 7

Are you a creator looking for a review of your book?
Use the form below to end us a message.

Are you a fan of the website and have a comment, question, or concern? Drop us a line, and we will gladly answer all your questions.

JOIN THE TEAM

Monkeys Fighting Robots is looking for passionate writers to drive the site’s coverage of the comic book industry. Authors will be responsible for a particular niche, providing reviews, opinion and news coverage, while building a reader community using his or her multimedia storytelling skills. The best candidates have solid writing skills, WordPress knowledge, and are engaged on social media. Do you love comic books and have a strong opinion, then we would like to speak with you.

DAREDEVIL #7 - Hell's Kitchen Evolves 8

MEET THE TEAM

COMIC REVIEW DIGEST, sign up today! At Monkeys Fighting Robots, we strive to talk about ALL aspects of a comic book, instead of just giving you a recap of the story.
  • Did you notice how epic the colors were?
  • That was a wicked panel layout by the artist!
  • What was the letterer thinking?
  • How did this comic book make you feel?
  • Most importantly, should you buy it?

Every Wednesday you will receive an email with our latest reviews and analyses, as well as our original comic strips and exclusive editorial content.
Thanks for signing up!