DAREDEVIL #10 – An Exercise In Intensity

FIRST IMPRESSION

Zdarsky's DAREDEVIL is essential comic book reading.
Writing/Story
Pencils/Inks
Coloring
Lettering
- Advertisement -

This week Marvel unleashes DAREDEVIL #10 on the world. Chip Zdarsky’s run on the book keeps getting better and better–this one might make you sweat a little.

DAREDEVIL 10 CVR
EAT YOUR HEART OUT QUESTION

***SPOILERS LIE AHEAD***

 

Matt Murdock finds himself in the right/wrong place at the right/wrong time. While visiting the brother of the man Daredevil murdered, as his probation officer, Murdock finds himself in the middle of a police shootout inside the police station.

- Advertisement -

Detective Cole North has a hit put on him by the Owl while inside a police station filled with crooked cops. His “guardian devil” happens to be there to bail him out and even provide a cover for him–blaming the entire mess inside the police station on Daredevil.

Everything that Chip Zdarsky has introduced to Daredevil is paying off already in just ten issues. Between Matt quitting his other life, sleeping with the mob wife/librarian, Cole North’s conflicted being, and Matt’s questioning of morality and religion–there’s already so much to grab onto that was birthed in this series. There’s a lot of merit in that, not carrying over a lot of baggage from the previous creators.

The theme of Matt Murdock struggling with his religion and not being able to “shake the devil’s influence” is enthralling. The conflicted character of Cole North has been developed and unfolded at the perfect pace. Even Matt shedding his Daredevil skin, something we’ve seen in superhero comics hundreds of times, has felt fresh and exciting.

DAREDEVIL #10 - An Exercise In Intensity 1
BRILLIANT LAYOUTS

Daredevil fans have been blessed in recent years. The Charles Soule Daredevil run was no easy act to follow, but Zdarsky is doing it. What’s most impressive is how effective this series is without feeling anything like the Soule run. It’s potentially two all-time great runs back-to-back with completely different visions.

Zdarsky isn’t the only creator making this an experience to remember either. Artist Jorge Fornés and colorist Jordie Bellaire elevate this series to the it’s current standing–which is among the best comics Marvel is putting out at a time that they are on fire across the board.

Daredevil #10 is a perfectly crafted build of suspense and anxiety. The way the drama unfolds will bring readers to the edge of their seats. Fornés slowly raises the intensity throughout and when the bullets start flying and Matt steps out of the shadows, it’s extremely satisfying.

DAREDEVIL #10 - An Exercise In Intensity 2
BIG MAN AT A LITTLE DESK

This issue’s paced and executed like an intense, panic-inducing episode of a great television show. It specifically reminded me of the heart palpitations I had watching that episode of True Detective when Rust Cole goes undercover in the trailer park to pull that biker guy out in the middle of a raid. It’s not often that comic book art can do that to a reader.

Not to mention how absurdly cool Matt looked once he emerged in his makeshift Daredevil mask wielding police nightsticks. That’s another element we’ve seen a lot of recently but feels fresh and exciting with these creators behind it.

Jordie Bellaire’s specific use of red as an immediate sign of danger in these panels is striking. She provides a contrast in these panels that gives it an iconic and memorable appeal that will insure that readers will keep this imagery in their heads long after closing the book.

Save 50% on graphic novels, statues & more!

TRENDING THIS WEEK

A Dark and Deadly Tale Begins In NOMEN OMEN #1

Nomen Omen #1 is the start of a dark and disturbing series from Image Comics. It's a tale of the supernatural coming after what is their due, and so much more.

FIREFLY #9 Shows How The Past Is Never Far Behind

Firefly #9 is a poignant reminder that no matter how far Malcolm Reynolds runs, he’ll never escape his past. This dark issue is perfect for fans of Mal and Zoe.

Donny Cates Kills Off The Marvel Universe In GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY #9 Preview

Guardians of the Galaxy #9 hits your local comic book shop on September 18, but thanks to Marvel Comics, Monkeys Fighting Robots has a...

Review: The Cavalry Arrives In ABSOLUTE CARNAGE #3

Absolute Carnage #3 continues the series’ exceptional start and the whole team continues to impress

Review: DEAD END KIDS #3 Will Leave You Needing Tissues

With the concluding issue, DEAD END KIDS #3 wraps up its emotional coming-of-age story on a somber, yet high note. Word of warning, you...

HOUSE OF X #5 – Get Ready For Your Mind To Be Blown

This week Marvel's mutant mania continues with HOUSE OF X #5. Jonathan Hickman's brain keeps spilling brilliance right into our hearts and minds, this chapter is particularly creative.

GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY #9 – The Universal Chuch Of Action

This week Marvel unleashes GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY #9 upon their faithful cosmic followers. Donny Cates delivers another heavy metal soaked script that artist Cory Smith packages in a fast-paced and action-packed issue.

Review: The Expansion Never Ends in STRAYED #2

Strayed #2 continues Lou’s tale, providing brilliant artwork and many of the answers to questions fans have been asking about the series.
Avatar
Brandon J. Griffin - Comic Book Critichttps://twitter.com/griffunk
New Jersey scum who worships comic books like religious literature. Yell at me on Twitter @griffunk

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

SPONSORS

If you want your BUSINESS to be part of something bigger than itself, you might be a good fit to partner with Monkeys Fighting Robots.

DAREDEVIL #10 - An Exercise In Intensity 6

CONTACT US

DAREDEVIL #10 - An Exercise In Intensity 7

Are you a creator looking for a review of your book?
Use the form below to end us a message.

Are you a fan of the website and have a comment, question, or concern? Drop us a line, and we will gladly answer all your questions.

JOIN THE TEAM

Monkeys Fighting Robots is looking for passionate writers to drive the site’s coverage of the comic book industry. Authors will be responsible for a particular niche, providing reviews, opinion and news coverage, while building a reader community using his or her multimedia storytelling skills. The best candidates have solid writing skills, WordPress knowledge, and are engaged on social media. Do you love comic books and have a strong opinion, then we would like to speak with you.

DAREDEVIL #10 - An Exercise In Intensity 8

MEET THE TEAM

COMIC REVIEW DIGEST, sign up today! At Monkeys Fighting Robots, we strive to talk about ALL aspects of a comic book, instead of just giving you a recap of the story.
  • Did you notice how epic the colors were?
  • That was a wicked panel layout by the artist!
  • What was the letterer thinking?
  • How did this comic book make you feel?
  • Most importantly, should you buy it?

Every Wednesday you will receive an email with our latest reviews and analyses, as well as our original comic strips and exclusive editorial content.
Thanks for signing up!