‘Black Hammer’ #13 Slowly Builds To Glory

FIRST IMPRESSION

An issue which tries to play with the human drama but leave the reader with an intense final page.
Writing/Story
Pencils/Inks
Colors
Lettering
- Advertisement -

It was the greatest superhero event of all time, a multiversal crisis. Black Hammer, Abraham Slam, Golden Gail, Barbalien, Colonel Weird, and even Madame Dragonfly they united to take down Anti-God, the ultimate evil, on the streets of Spiral City.
For ten years, the former heroes have been living in exile. But a new arrival from the main timeline brought new hope. And maybe, finally, its time for them to relaunch . . .

Writing/Story

This issue seems to start with a lot of random events. A character being teleported away, Abraham being brought in about the what happened to the Sheriff, and Lucy’s continued quest for answers. Everything feels a bit all over the place with when this is happening until it clicks on when these events are suppose to happen. Also, the drama between Abraham and Tammy doesn’t feel as hard hitting as it should given what plays out. Overall this seems much less intense than previous issues and unfortunately it requires a second read to really understand what all went down. Though this leaves the issue feeling less than perfect, writer Jeff Lemire finds a way to bring it all home with a final page which will leave the reader on bated breath for the next issue to come around.

Black Hammer

Pencils/Inks

Dean Ormstron’s artwork is fantastic. He employs detailed line work to show the concern and aging of different characters. The look he gives characters when they heard depressing and shocking news helps to connect with their reaction.

Colors

- Advertisement -

The colors by Dave Stewart are on point. Vibrant when they need to be and down to earth during the less intense moments. All of it helps to set the tone the series is known for.

Lettering

The different changes in style help to show who when Lucy as the narrator takes over and when the dialogue is meant to represent a regular conversation. This impressive display is all thanks to Letterer Todd Klein.

Conclusion

This issue feels like the calm before the storm for Black Hammer. Big things are about to explode and if you haven’t taken the time to check out this series you will soon regret it.

Save 50% on graphic novels, statues & more!

TRENDING THIS WEEK

FIREFLY #9 Shows How The Past Is Never Far Behind

Firefly #9 is a poignant reminder that no matter how far Malcolm Reynolds runs, he’ll never escape his past. This dark issue is perfect for fans of Mal and Zoe.

Review: The Expansion Never Ends in STRAYED #2

Strayed #2 continues Lou’s tale, providing brilliant artwork and many of the answers to questions fans have been asking about the series.

Lobo’s Kid Snaps In Our Exclusive First Look At TEEN TITANS #34

Teen Titans #34 hits your local comic book store on September 18, but thanks to DC Comics, Monkeys Fighting Robots has an exclusive five-page...

Sailing Away With Bat & Cat in BATMAN #78

After the shocker presented in our last issue, few readers may be ready for what we find in Batman #78, out this week from...

What A Dangerous World In WONDER WOMAN COME BACK TO ME #3

Wonder Woman Come Back to Me #3 forces Wonder Woman into a setting where she can’t use her powers to solve everything. It’s a refreshing take on a character we all know and love.

Review: Depression’s Effects On Relationships Explored In MIDDLEWEST #11

MIDDLEWEST's angsty protagonist Abel is on a mission to find a way to deal with the uncontrollable power inside of him. Led into The...

Review: SUPERGIRL #34 Crashing Back To Earth In Style

This is a return to form in Supergirl #34 from DC Comics, with a creative team who are comfortable working together. Back to Earth and back to basics.

AfterShock Exclusive Preview: BAD RECEPTION #2 – OMG, The HORROR! 😱🔪🔪

Bad Reception #2 hits your local comic book store on September 25, but thanks to AfterShock Comics, Monkeys Fighting Robots has a four-page preview...
Avatar
Anthony Wendel - Anime Editorhttp://www.thegiganticproject.com
Anthony is a geek through and through who still looks forward to new releases, sneak peaks, Giant Monsters and robots of all shapes and sizes. He loves nostalgic properties like Jem, The Transformers, and My Little Pony comics. He has a distinct apprehension for trolling and clips shows. His book, The Handbook for Surviving A Giant Monster Attack is available on Amazon.

SPONSORS

If you want your BUSINESS to be part of something bigger than itself, you might be a good fit to partner with Monkeys Fighting Robots.

'Black Hammer' #13 Slowly Builds To Glory 3

CONTACT US

'Black Hammer' #13 Slowly Builds To Glory 4

Are you a creator looking for a review of your book?
Use the form below to end us a message.

Are you a fan of the website and have a comment, question, or concern? Drop us a line, and we will gladly answer all your questions.

JOIN THE TEAM

Monkeys Fighting Robots is looking for passionate writers to drive the site’s coverage of the comic book industry. Authors will be responsible for a particular niche, providing reviews, opinion and news coverage, while building a reader community using his or her multimedia storytelling skills. The best candidates have solid writing skills, WordPress knowledge, and are engaged on social media. Do you love comic books and have a strong opinion, then we would like to speak with you.

'Black Hammer' #13 Slowly Builds To Glory 5

MEET THE TEAM

COMIC REVIEW DIGEST, sign up today! At Monkeys Fighting Robots, we strive to talk about ALL aspects of a comic book, instead of just giving you a recap of the story.
  • Did you notice how epic the colors were?
  • That was a wicked panel layout by the artist!
  • What was the letterer thinking?
  • How did this comic book make you feel?
  • Most importantly, should you buy it?

Every Wednesday you will receive an email with our latest reviews and analyses, as well as our original comic strips and exclusive editorial content.
Thanks for signing up!