Advance Review – William Gibson’s ALIEN 3

Writing/Story
Pencils/Inks
Colors
Lettering
- Advertisement -

Dark Horse brings fans of the Alien franchise a unique experience. 20th Century Fox Uncovered presents the unproduced screenplay of Alien 3 in comic book form. William Gibson, Johnnie Christmas and Tamra Bonvillain bring us the Aliens sequel we deserved.

Alien 3 cvr

The Aliens 3 film that we got is a well documented mess, but we’re not here to dive into that again. With this series we get to take a look at what could have been with Gibson’s unused 1987 screenplay.

Our story picks up right from Aliens and does so without killing all of the surviving character besides Ripley. We go in a totally different direction, leaving heavily into the “Marxist space empire” politics that exist.

- Advertisement -

This first issue sets up our new cast and setting, just barely giving us any of Ripley, Hicks, Bishop, or Newt. Right away there’s a familiar tone and atmosphere from Aliens that we didn’t get in 1992’s Alien 3.

Johnnie Christmas and Tamra Bonvillain do a wonderful job thrusting readers into a familiar landscape. William Gibson’s different direction for the sequel mixed with pleasing and nostalgic visuals makes for a satisfying reader experience.

Advance Review - William Gibson's ALIEN 3 1

While there isn’t a lot of emotion or acting on display with these characters, one major success the art achieves is in it’s texture. There are so many different surfaces throughout that all come across so real you can easily imagine what they would feel like on your hand. Johnnie Christmas does a stupendous job connecting the reader to how this world feels and looks.

For a screenplay from 1987 being adapted by artists in 2018, this is no disjointed effort. This feels like a comic book adaptation of the Alien 3 movie we never got, which is exactly what readers will be coming here for. This is only the tip of the iceberg, the screenplay itself was always lauded as being action-packed, there’s much more in store for readers the deeper we get into this story.

Advance Review - William Gibson's ALIEN 3 2

Whether you’re a fan or not of the final Alien 3 released in 1992, this will be an interesting experience. It’s a unique opportunity for fans of the franchise regardless of how they feel about David Fincher’s directorial debut.

The first issue of Alien 3 is a quiet setup more than anything, but one that perfectly establishes the tone and atmosphere fans want from the follow-up to Aliens. This is a one-of-a-kind experience for anyone with a love for xenomorphs.

Save 50% on graphic novels, statues & more!

TRENDING THIS WEEK

Review: It’s Alive’s PINK LEMONADE Mashes Kirby & Knievel

It takes a special kind of talent to be retro without being repetitive. Too often comics that harken back to the Silver Age just...

HOUSE OF X #5 – Get Ready For Your Mind To Be Blown

This week Marvel's mutant mania continues with HOUSE OF X #5. Jonathan Hickman's brain keeps spilling brilliance right into our hearts and minds, this chapter is particularly creative.

Review: The Expansion Never Ends in STRAYED #2

Strayed #2 continues Lou’s tale, providing brilliant artwork and many of the answers to questions fans have been asking about the series.

Review: An Ending And A New Beginning In FAITHLESS #6

Faithless #6 from BOOM! Studios, is a thought provoking, love letter to fashion, theatre, and Art. A gorgeous end to the first, exhilarating arc.

Review: SPIDER-MAN #1 – J.J Abrams And Henry Abrams Take Spidey In A Bold New Direction

Spider-Man #1 by J.J. Abrams, Henry Abrams, Sara Pichelli, Elisabetta D'Amico, Dave Stewart and Joe Caramagna is an intriguing and beautifully illustrated book that...

Review: YEAR OF THE VILLAIN: LEX LUTHOR #1 – Another Year, Another Ode To A Classic Villain

Year Of The Villain: Lex Luthor #1 is a strong collaborative effort that is a true celebration of one of the most complex villains...

Cosmic Ghost Rider Gets Gamma Bombed In Our AVENGERS #24 Exclusive Preview

Avengers #24 hits your local comic shop next week on September 25, but thanks to Marvel Comics, Monkeys Fighting Robots has an exclusive four-page...

FIREFLY #9 Shows How The Past Is Never Far Behind

Firefly #9 is a poignant reminder that no matter how far Malcolm Reynolds runs, he’ll never escape his past. This dark issue is perfect for fans of Mal and Zoe.
Avatar
Brandon J. Griffin - Comic Book Critichttps://twitter.com/griffunk
New Jersey scum who worships comic books like religious literature. Yell at me on Twitter @griffunk

SPONSORS

If you want your BUSINESS to be part of something bigger than itself, you might be a good fit to partner with Monkeys Fighting Robots.

Advance Review - William Gibson's ALIEN 3 5

CONTACT US

Advance Review - William Gibson's ALIEN 3 6

Are you a creator looking for a review of your book?
Use the form below to end us a message.

Are you a fan of the website and have a comment, question, or concern? Drop us a line, and we will gladly answer all your questions.

JOIN THE TEAM

Monkeys Fighting Robots is looking for passionate writers to drive the site’s coverage of the comic book industry. Authors will be responsible for a particular niche, providing reviews, opinion and news coverage, while building a reader community using his or her multimedia storytelling skills. The best candidates have solid writing skills, WordPress knowledge, and are engaged on social media. Do you love comic books and have a strong opinion, then we would like to speak with you.

Advance Review - William Gibson's ALIEN 3 7

MEET THE TEAM

COMIC REVIEW DIGEST, sign up today! At Monkeys Fighting Robots, we strive to talk about ALL aspects of a comic book, instead of just giving you a recap of the story.
  • Did you notice how epic the colors were?
  • That was a wicked panel layout by the artist!
  • What was the letterer thinking?
  • How did this comic book make you feel?
  • Most importantly, should you buy it?

Every Wednesday you will receive an email with our latest reviews and analyses, as well as our original comic strips and exclusive editorial content.
Thanks for signing up!