Monkeys Fighting Robots

Netflix’s original film BRIGHT is getting a lot of (justifiably) bad press since its release. The film is scoring horrible reviews, and stirring up conversations on how the film handles racism. Now it turns out the film did more than leave out good taste. BRIGHT left out all the names of the studioADI team, which did Special Make-Up for the film.

StudioADI released a statement on their omission, listing the names of the folks who worked on the film. “On rare occasion unintentional credit omissions are made. When you see those never-ending lists of crew in the credits of a movie like Bright you can be guaranteed that mistakes are going to be made,” said the studio. “That’s what happened to us. Our entire crew was left out of the credits.

What makes this error especially egregious is that the film may win an Oscar for its make-up. The Oscars revealed the films in contention for Best Makeup and Hairstyling last week. BRIGHT tops the list of the seven films that could win – it’s an alphabetical list, mind you, but that’s still quite a feat. Not to mention the fact that StudioADI has won Oscars for its previous work. Failing to acknowledge so many individuals, especially those behind your film’s best attribute, is embarrassing.

Copyright Scott Garfield/Netflix

“We’re having the necessary conversations about getting it rectified (it’s streaming, right? seems like a do-able fix) but until we get a resolution, we thought we’d post the complete list of the incredible folks who worked on ADI’s crew,” says the studio.

Netflix has yet to respond to the omissions, potentially because it’s still the holiday season. In the mean time, you can see the list of team members omitted below.

Shop Supervisor
Yuri Everson

Asst. Shop Supervisor
Garth Winkless

Mechanical Supervisor
Dave Penikas

Seaming/ Fabrication Supervisor
Tim Leach

Mold Supervisor
Dave Perteet

Paint Supervisor
Mike Larrabee

Foam Supervisor
Matt Mastrella

Michael Heintzelman

Seaming/ Finishing Dept.
Brian Clawson
Sara Villarreal
Jon K. Miller
Hope DeCanio
Amanda Taggart
Alison Kellerman
Anthony Matijevich
Jon Fedele

Fabrication Dept.
Consuelo Duran
Elizabeth Santos
Lucy Torres

Colin Gillis
Paul Manchento

Design Dept.
Ken Barthelmey
Justin Goby-Fields
Mauricio Ruiz
Justice Joseph
Miles Teves
Bryan Wynia
Andrew Bergholtz
Jordan K. Morris

Sculpture Dept.
Wayne Anderson
Steve Koch
Mikey Rotella
Ayumi Miyashiro
Matt Rose
Michael O’Brien
Timothy Martin

Mold Dept.
Brent Baker
Anthony Stewart
Steve Winsett
Kyle Marzigliano
David Woodruff
Tanner White
Jared Guenther
Brian Rae
Anthony Diaz
Grace Balsamo

Foam Dept.
Keaton Blue
Dustin Washburne
Jacob Roanhaus

Paint Dept.
Reed Cesare
Adam Dougherty

Contact Lenses
Cristina Patterson
Jessica Nelson

Baby Body Mold
Vincent Van Dyke

Jon Barr is a comedian and TV Phanatic. Yeah, he meant to spell it that way. It's like the Philly Phanatic, like from Philadelphia, because he's from - you get it. He loves good TV & mocking bad TV. You can find him all over the web.