STAR WARS #68: New Creative Team Provides Fresh Start

FIRST IMPRESSION

A successful Star Wars series requires the creative team to take us to new places and old while operating within the cracks and shadows of the films. That being said, Greg Pak and Phil Noto make a great pair to usher us into this new era of Star Wars.
Writing/Story
Pencils/Inks
Colors
Lettering
- Advertisement -

Writer Greg Pak and artist Phil Noto take over as the new creative team in STAR WARS #68.

STAR WARS 68 CVR

***SPOILERS LIE AHEAD***

 

Previously Greg Pak had been doing the Star Wars: Age Of Rebellion one-shots, serving as a nice sampler of what to expect from his take on the Star Wars universe.

- Advertisement -

Greg Park must’ve written the crawl and then told there needs to be a summary of the never-ending Shu-Torun story first. The first page is written exactly like a Star Wars crawl right after you read the actual crawl. Not a nitpick, just an observation.

Our heroes are split up into small teams in order to carry out specific missions against the Empire. They’re pretty much the same pairings from The Empire Strikes Back. Greg Pak wastes no time diving into the action at hand.

EMPIRE DEJA VU

The effectiveness of Chewbacca and C-3PO’s scenes together is telltale sign that Pak is more than comfortable in the Star Wars universe. Their scenes are funny and enjoyable despite one being a pain in the ass protocol droid spewing exposition and the other speaking only in reactionary roars.

The panel of Luke and R2-D2 staring off into a sunset, with Luke’s sarcastic line about spending his life getting off a desert planet inspires one to smile or at least smirk.

Chewie & 3PO’s moral conundrum is no shocker, but still effective when done right. Han and Leia’s smuggler disguises are the worst Star Wars cosplay ever. Leia’s past lover is a great way to flip the Han/Sana scenario from Jason Aaron’s run.

Greg Pak’s first issue on the big ongoing series isn’t as surgical as his one-shots, but it’s a solid start. This isn’t an explosive or bold introduction, however it does serve as a smooth transition into a new creative voice and vision.

RIEEKAN'S HEROES

Fans who have been reading Marvel’s relaunch of the Star Wars comics from the start can rejoice with the employment of Phil Noto. Gone are the photo-realistic art travesties, in comes a perfect balance of lifelike and comic book.

Noto was a fantastic choice to illustrate Pak’s scripts. Not only are his characters recognizable without being traced, but his ships and environments are worth the exploration of your eyes. Noto’s art is a breath of fresh air into the main Star Wars series.

A successful Star Wars series requires the creative team to take us to new places and old while operating within the cracks and shadows of the films. That being said, Greg Pak and Phil Noto make a great pair to usher us into this new era of Star Wars.

Star Wars #68 is both a breath of fresh air for longtime readers and a great jumping-on point for those who bailed on the awful artwork of previous teams.

Save 50% on graphic novels, statues & more!

TRENDING THIS WEEK

Review: The Cavalry Arrives In ABSOLUTE CARNAGE #3

Absolute Carnage #3 continues the series’ exceptional start and the whole team continues to impress

Review: SPIDER-MAN #1 – J.J Abrams And Henry Abrams Take Spidey In A Bold New Direction

Spider-Man #1 by J.J. Abrams, Henry Abrams, Sara Pichelli, Elisabetta D'Amico, Dave Stewart and Joe Caramagna is an intriguing and beautifully illustrated book that...

Review: Depression’s Effects On Relationships Explored In MIDDLEWEST #11

MIDDLEWEST's angsty protagonist Abel is on a mission to find a way to deal with the uncontrollable power inside of him. Led into The...

Review: AQUAMAN #52 And Aqualad’s Loss Of Innocence

Readers last saw Arthur Curry facing down a monstrous oceanic creature on Amnesty Island, the proposed new home for his Old God friends. The...

Review: BLACK HAMMER: AGE OF DOOM #12-The End of an Epic

With Anti-God threatening existence once again, Abraham Slam, Golden Gail, and company are forced to make a difficult choice in Black Hammer: Age of...

Review: NAPOLEON DYNAMITE #1 is Flippin’ Sweet

For a generation not raised on Rocky Horror Picture Show, Napoleon Dynamite might be the absolute definition of a cult film. So when IDW...

Review: ANGEL #5 Reintroducing A Fan Favourite

With exceptional art, engaging narrative, and a cast of diversely interesting characters, Angel from BOOM! Studios is a joy to read.

FIREFLY #9 Shows How The Past Is Never Far Behind

Firefly #9 is a poignant reminder that no matter how far Malcolm Reynolds runs, he’ll never escape his past. This dark issue is perfect for fans of Mal and Zoe.
Avatar
Brandon J. Griffin - Comic Book Critichttps://twitter.com/griffunk
New Jersey scum who worships comic books like religious literature. Yell at me on Twitter @griffunk

SPONSORS

If you want your BUSINESS to be part of something bigger than itself, you might be a good fit to partner with Monkeys Fighting Robots.

STAR WARS #68: New Creative Team Provides Fresh Start 3

CONTACT US

STAR WARS #68: New Creative Team Provides Fresh Start 4

Are you a creator looking for a review of your book?
Use the form below to end us a message.

Are you a fan of the website and have a comment, question, or concern? Drop us a line, and we will gladly answer all your questions.

JOIN THE TEAM

Monkeys Fighting Robots is looking for passionate writers to drive the site’s coverage of the comic book industry. Authors will be responsible for a particular niche, providing reviews, opinion and news coverage, while building a reader community using his or her multimedia storytelling skills. The best candidates have solid writing skills, WordPress knowledge, and are engaged on social media. Do you love comic books and have a strong opinion, then we would like to speak with you.

STAR WARS #68: New Creative Team Provides Fresh Start 5

MEET THE TEAM

COMIC REVIEW DIGEST, sign up today! At Monkeys Fighting Robots, we strive to talk about ALL aspects of a comic book, instead of just giving you a recap of the story.
  • Did you notice how epic the colors were?
  • That was a wicked panel layout by the artist!
  • What was the letterer thinking?
  • How did this comic book make you feel?
  • Most importantly, should you buy it?

Every Wednesday you will receive an email with our latest reviews and analyses, as well as our original comic strips and exclusive editorial content.
Thanks for signing up!