Review: It’s Alive’s PINK LEMONADE Mashes Kirby & Knievel

FIRST IMPRESSION

Nick Cagnetti knows the instruments of the Silver Age, but doesn't repeat any of the tunes.
Writing
Pencils
Coloring
Lettering
- Advertisement -

It takes a special kind of talent to be retro without being repetitive. Too often comics that harken back to the Silver Age just end up copying them, and to anyone familiar with that time period, fall flat. That’s not the case for Pink Lemonade, a new series from indie publisher It’s Alive that’s both as original as it is reminiscent of 60s comics. That’s an impressive feat in itself, but especially when you consider that auteur Nick Cagnetti serves as its letterer, author, colorist, and artist. So, should you pick up Pink Lemonade when it hits comic stores next month? Read on to find out.

PINK LEMONADE # 1 COVER
PINK LEMONADE # 1 COVER – Image via Nick Cagnetti, It’s Alive Comics

Imagine if Evel Knievel was born into a Jack Kirby-designed universe, and you essentially have Pink Lemonade. She’s a high-flying, death-defying adventurer with a motorcycle best friend and a bad case of amnesia. When we meet her, Pink Lemonade is trying to rediscover a purpose in life, but all she has to guide her is a bright pink bike, a stunt suit, and strange dreams of battling otherworldly entities.

Fortunately for her, Pink Lemonade meets two kind strangers in Pammy and Linda, who invite her to their home for dinner. Pammy’s a little girl who idolizes the mysterious rider, and Linda is her comic-drawing mother. The two bring focus into Pink Lemonade’s world, and their influence sets Pink Lemonade on a path to do as much good as she can with her bike and her skills, memories or no. However, Pink Lemonade is soon to learn that the otherworldly entities she sees in her dreams are bleeding into real life, and if she’s going to find out more about who she is, she’ll have to confront some very strange, and possibly deadly, challenges.

- Advertisement -

Cagnetti’s introduction to the world of Pink Lemonade is chock-full of mystery and surrealism, and he does a great job establishing a very large, mystic universe. At the same time, having Pink Lemonade interact with Pammy and Linda grounds the human element of the story. Pink Lemonade is both the audience’s introduction to the world and the person at its center, kind of a Mulder and Scully at once. That’s a cool thing to see, ensuring the reader will invest in this story.

PINK LEMONADE #1, PAGE 7
PINK LEMONADE #1, PAGE 7 – Image via Nick Cagnetti, It’s Alive Comics

All that said, the absolute strongest piece of Pink Lemonade is the artwork. As we mentioned earlier, this is Silver Age comics fun at its best. Fans will notice influences like Jack Kirby, Adam Strange, and Amazing Fantasy, but at no point is there any copying of what’s come before. Nick Cagnetti knows the instruments of the Silver Age but doesn’t repeat any of the tunes.

Cagnetti does with 70s motorcycle aesthetics what Mignola does with occult artwork: he matches familiar icons with a distinct style. The result makes the reader feel like they’ve been transported to the world of an action-figure ad. In fact, Cagnetti actually throws in some fictional adds of his own, which feature into the story and give the reader the sense of going through an old comic issue. It’s sure to please readers who prefer that type of book, but also anyone who likes to see the style imitated. Fans of Mike Allred’s Silver Surfer or Batman ’66 could do worse than to add Pink Lemonade to their pull lists.

PINK LEMONADE #1, PAGE 3
PINK LEMONADE #1, PAGE 3 – Image via Nick Cagnetti, It’s Alive Comics

If there’s one thing that Pink Lemonade could improve upon, it’s the dialogue. Occasionally characters will overexplain something that’s going on, or say something that feels unnatural to their situations. This can be distracting, especially since the art already speaks for itself so well. Cagnetti is great at drawing expressions; we don’t need Pink Lemonade to say how she feels in a thought dialogue box. To be fair, this is a Silver Age pastiche after all, and anyone who’s read Reed Richards introduce himself a thousand times knows those comics could be talky.

If you’re a fan of the Silver Age or Silver Age-style art, this comic is definitely for you. But there’s another type of comic reader that should check this out, and that’s anyone who’s forgotten how fun comics can be. If you’re bogged down by the gritty, dark tone that some comic book movies have taken, pick up Pink Lemonade. It’s a positive, fun book, but it doesn’t lose any resonance for it. It’s that kind of story that gave us our favorite Big Two comics today, and it’s always nice to be reminded of their origins. You can pick up Pink Lemonade at your local comic book store on October 16th.

PINK LEMONADE #1, PAGE 6
PINK LEMONADE #1, PAGE 6 – Image via Nick Cagnetti, It’s Alive Comics

For more reviews like this one, follow us on Twitter. And for all the best comics discussion and interviews, keep an eye on Monkeys Fighting Robots.


Save 50% on graphic novels, statues & more!
Grant DeArmitt
Grant DeArmitt
Grant DeArmitt is a New York City-based entertainment journalist. He writes about horror, comics, and any cult classics. Once, at a bookstore, Ron Perlman told him his hair was "lovely." Twitter: @GrantDeArmitt // Email: [email protected]

SPONSORS

If you want your BUSINESS to be part of something bigger than itself, you might be a good fit to partner with Monkeys Fighting Robots.

Review: It's Alive's PINK LEMONADE Mashes Kirby & Knievel 4

CONTACT US

Review: It's Alive's PINK LEMONADE Mashes Kirby & Knievel 5

Are you a creator looking for a review of your book?
Use the form below to end us a message.

Are you a fan of the website and have a comment, question, or concern? Drop us a line, and we will gladly answer all your questions.

JOIN THE TEAM

Monkeys Fighting Robots is looking for passionate writers to drive the site’s coverage of the comic book industry. Authors will be responsible for a particular niche, providing reviews, opinion and news coverage, while building a reader community using his or her multimedia storytelling skills. The best candidates have solid writing skills, WordPress knowledge, and are engaged on social media. Do you love comic books and have a strong opinion, then we would like to speak with you.

Review: It's Alive's PINK LEMONADE Mashes Kirby & Knievel 6

MEET THE TEAM

COMIC REVIEW DIGEST, sign up today! At Monkeys Fighting Robots, we strive to talk about ALL aspects of a comic book, instead of just giving you a recap of the story.
  • Did you notice how epic the colors were?
  • That was a wicked panel layout by the artist!
  • What was the letterer thinking?
  • How did this comic book make you feel?
  • Most importantly, should you buy it?

Every Wednesday you will receive an email with our latest reviews and analyses, as well as our original comic strips and exclusive editorial content.
Thanks for signing up!