Review: GREEN LANTERN #5 And The Fear Of Losing Oneself

FIRST IMPRESSION

Morrison dives deep into Hal's psyche, using the Blackstar leader Belzebeth as the tool by which it's unraveled.
Writing/Story
Pencils/Inks
Colors
Letters
- Advertisement -

Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps have spent most of Grant Morrison’s run fighting valiantly against the evil Blackstar militia group. But a new twist of fate sees Hal volunteering to join their ranks. Which isn’t all too surprising given his growing dissatisfaction with the Corps methods. Now readers will see if Hal has what it takes to survive the Blackstar initiation process.

Green Lantern #5 main cover

Story

The issue wastes no time getting the initiation process underway by plunging Hal into the vampire-filled planet of Vorr. Countess Belzebeth, after handcuffing him, leads Hal through a landscape of gore and horror. The space cop soon realizes everything is not as it seems and finds he must leave aspects of himself behind in order to survive.

Hal is introduced to Vorr

- Advertisement -

Hal ventures into Vorr

It seems Morrison is leading Hal down a path of no return in this issue, but not in the way one might think. The story’s danger lies less in the vampires attacking Hal and more in the psychological ramifications of each initiation task.

Hal learns Belzebeth’s initiation test was designed to serve as the antithesis to his most cherished qualities: individuality, confidence and willpower. These qualities are preventing him from passing the test, and Hal must learn to let go of his bravado and surrender to the Blackstar Collective.

Belzebeth explains Vorr Belzebeth tells Hal he may lose himself

Morrison presents two intriguing versions of Hal in this issue. The classic version of Hal confronts his doubts and fears head-on with a smirk, while the new version, the Blackstar recruit Hal, begrudgingly surrenders his will to Belzebeth. It’s up to the reader to decide which version is truly “Hal” as he dives deeper into the Blackstar’s ranks.

Art

Issue #5 is another visual treat for fans of Liam Sharp’s cosmic artwork. His penciling on the cover and throughout the issue brings to mind the complexity of life in all its glory and horror. It’s almost as if the reader feels the life in each illustration through Sharp’s use of sketched lines that pulse throughout the pages. Also, Steve Oliff’s coloring adds a clear distinction between Hal’s costume and the gray colors of Vorr, further emphasizing his disintegration from the Green Lanterns. Tom Orzechowski’s lettering gives character to the inhabitants of Vorr as Hal navigates his way through their neighborhood.

The variant cover more or less serves the purpose of highlighting Hal’s former Green Lantern glory. Joe St. Pierre and and Steve Firchow use bright greens to emphasize the light he’s leaving behind. The artists also use solid shading and straight lines to represent the straight-laced, uncompromising attitude Hal must also abandon.

Green Lantern #5 variant cover

Conclusion

Hal undergoes a grueling self-discovery process that’s full of action. Regardless of motive, it’ll be interesting to see how this Blackstar ordeal impacts his psyche. Rest assured, the masterful writing of Morrison will make sure it’s mind-blowing.

What did you think of Hal’s Blackstar initiation? Let us know in the comments below!

Save 50% on graphic novels, statues & more!

TRENDING THIS WEEK

Review: AQUAMAN #52 And Aqualad’s Loss Of Innocence

Readers last saw Arthur Curry facing down a monstrous oceanic creature on Amnesty Island, the proposed new home for his Old God friends. The...

Meet The Next Guardians Of The Galaxy In BLACK PANTHER AND THE AGENTS OF WAKANDA #1

You might not know a lot about the Agents of Wakanda right now but it’s only a matter of time before some of them become breakout stars. 

G.I. JOE #1 Is a Joe-Tastic Start For New Readers

This Wednesday the action-packed first issue of IDW's newly rebooted G.I. Joe releases, where everyone can be a Joe, even you! The G.I. Joe comic...

FIREFLY #9 Shows How The Past Is Never Far Behind

Firefly #9 is a poignant reminder that no matter how far Malcolm Reynolds runs, he’ll never escape his past. This dark issue is perfect for fans of Mal and Zoe.

Review: SPIDER-MAN #1 – J.J Abrams And Henry Abrams Take Spidey In A Bold New Direction

Spider-Man #1 by J.J. Abrams, Henry Abrams, Sara Pichelli, Elisabetta D'Amico, Dave Stewart and Joe Caramagna is an intriguing and beautifully illustrated book that...

A Dark and Deadly Tale Begins In NOMEN OMEN #1

Nomen Omen #1 is the start of a dark and disturbing series from Image Comics. It's a tale of the supernatural coming after what is their due, and so much more.

Review: THE BLACK GHOST#1 Excellently Mixes Noir, Mystery and Vigilantes

The Black Ghost #1, published by ComiXology, and created by Alex Segura, Monica Gallagher, Marco Finnegan, George Kambadias, Ellie Wright and Taylor Esposito perfectly...

Interview: Scout Comics CCO James Pruett Talks ‘MIDNIGHT SKY’ And All Things Scout

Scout Comics has been on the rise for a while now. With a truly diverse set of titles that range in all sorts of...
Avatar
Corey Patterson
A comic book nerd and reviewer with a special interest in the underlying themes of superhero, sci-fi and fantasy stories. He enjoys writing for Monkeys Fighting Robots, Pop Culture and Theology and other publications.

SPONSORS

If you want your BUSINESS to be part of something bigger than itself, you might be a good fit to partner with Monkeys Fighting Robots.

Review: GREEN LANTERN #5 And The Fear Of Losing Oneself 3

CONTACT US

Review: GREEN LANTERN #5 And The Fear Of Losing Oneself 4

Are you a creator looking for a review of your book?
Use the form below to end us a message.

Are you a fan of the website and have a comment, question, or concern? Drop us a line, and we will gladly answer all your questions.

JOIN THE TEAM

Monkeys Fighting Robots is looking for passionate writers to drive the site’s coverage of the comic book industry. Authors will be responsible for a particular niche, providing reviews, opinion and news coverage, while building a reader community using his or her multimedia storytelling skills. The best candidates have solid writing skills, WordPress knowledge, and are engaged on social media. Do you love comic books and have a strong opinion, then we would like to speak with you.

Review: GREEN LANTERN #5 And The Fear Of Losing Oneself 5

MEET THE TEAM

COMIC REVIEW DIGEST, sign up today! At Monkeys Fighting Robots, we strive to talk about ALL aspects of a comic book, instead of just giving you a recap of the story.
  • Did you notice how epic the colors were?
  • That was a wicked panel layout by the artist!
  • What was the letterer thinking?
  • How did this comic book make you feel?
  • Most importantly, should you buy it?

Every Wednesday you will receive an email with our latest reviews and analyses, as well as our original comic strips and exclusive editorial content.
Thanks for signing up!