IMMORTAL HULK #11: The Horrifying Evolution Of Rage

FIRST IMPRESSION

Al Ewing's IMMORTAL HULK run is as monumental and surprising as Tom King's VISION was a few years ago.
Writing/Story
Pencils/Inks
Coloring
Lettering
- Advertisement -

Al Ewing and Joe Bennett continue to deliver more than we could have ever expected with this stellar Immortal Hulk run. This has easily been one of the best Marvel books of the year.

Immortal Hulk 11 cvr

***SPOILERS LIE AHEAD***

 

Hulk finds himself on a journey through hell. Immortal Hulk has been a comic drenched very much in horror aesthetics, this new story takes it too a whole new level in issue #11.

- Advertisement -

The deeper Hulk goes on this inward journey, the more layered the series becomes. What began as a horrifying look at the monster that had overtaken the man has no evolved into an examination of the human condition and how anger effects and rules all. Rage is a monster that lays in wait within all of us.

Al Ewing finds new ways to contort and shape a Hulk story to fit everyday monsters and demons each issue. We take a deep dive into the Bruce Banner and Hulk experience in a way that we’ve never really seen before.

This might be the most inventive and truly captivating comic book to ever star the big green gamma monster. Immortal Hulk is probably the best series Marvel is currently publishing and could easily be a top contender across the entire industry.

IMMORTAL HULK #11: The Horrifying Evolution Of Rage 1

There’s so much tension and agony on every page, it oozes from the script and takes a beautifully ugly shape thanks to the phenomenal work by Joe Bennett. Creepy visuals, layouts, and angles only add to the palpable feeling of unease while reading this issue.

Bennett provides a few shock moments to give you the horror movie jolt, but most of the dread conjured up comes from the character’s experience and how Ewing’s script is illustrated. Joe Bennett might not be the most high profiled artist to spend some time with Banner in recent years, but Immortal Hulk will definitely be the most memorable thanks in large part to his art.

Colorist Paul Mounts and Inker Ruy José bring this new, hellish landscape to life. Our new environment is even more terrifying thanks to an otherworldly pallet and heavy tastefully heavy inks.

IMMORTAL HULK #11: The Horrifying Evolution Of Rage 2

As we continue to take this journey along with Banner and his greener half, we discover more about the character than we have in a long time. Immortal Hulk has surprises waiting around every corner, readers will be on their toes with each page turn as we have no idea what to expect.

Al Ewing should be firmly planted in comic book royalty for this run alone (his other work is quite good as well). Immortal Hulk continues to raise the bar and catch us off guard. This is a must-read book no matter what your pull list looks like.

Save 50% on graphic novels, statues & more!

TRENDING THIS WEEK

Review: NAPOLEON DYNAMITE #1 is Flippin’ Sweet

For a generation not raised on Rocky Horror Picture Show, Napoleon Dynamite might be the absolute definition of a cult film. So when IDW...

HOUSE OF X #5 – Get Ready For Your Mind To Be Blown

This week Marvel's mutant mania continues with HOUSE OF X #5. Jonathan Hickman's brain keeps spilling brilliance right into our hearts and minds, this chapter is particularly creative.

Review: The Cavalry Arrives In ABSOLUTE CARNAGE #3

Absolute Carnage #3 continues the series’ exceptional start and the whole team continues to impress

Review: Sending a Message to Bane in BATMAN #79

Bruce and Selina’s beach vacation continues in Batman #79, out this week from DC Comics. Occurring before the events of Batman #77, we see...

Review: YOU ARE OBSOLETE #1 – A Leisurely Stroll Through Secluded Hell

The children are smart, clever, and are creepy as @#$% in You Are Obsolete #1, out this week from Aftershock. You Are Obsolete #1 is...

G.I. JOE #1 Is a Joe-Tastic Start For New Readers

This Wednesday the action-packed first issue of IDW's newly rebooted G.I. Joe releases, where everyone can be a Joe, even you! The G.I. Joe comic...

Meet The Next Guardians Of The Galaxy In BLACK PANTHER AND THE AGENTS OF WAKANDA #1

You might not know a lot about the Agents of Wakanda right now but it’s only a matter of time before some of them become breakout stars. 

FIREFLY #9 Shows How The Past Is Never Far Behind

Firefly #9 is a poignant reminder that no matter how far Malcolm Reynolds runs, he’ll never escape his past. This dark issue is perfect for fans of Mal and Zoe.
Avatar
Brandon J. Griffin - Comic Book Critichttps://twitter.com/griffunk
New Jersey scum who worships comic books like religious literature. Yell at me on Twitter @griffunk

SPONSORS

If you want your BUSINESS to be part of something bigger than itself, you might be a good fit to partner with Monkeys Fighting Robots.

IMMORTAL HULK #11: The Horrifying Evolution Of Rage 5

CONTACT US

IMMORTAL HULK #11: The Horrifying Evolution Of Rage 6

Are you a creator looking for a review of your book?
Use the form below to end us a message.

Are you a fan of the website and have a comment, question, or concern? Drop us a line, and we will gladly answer all your questions.

JOIN THE TEAM

Monkeys Fighting Robots is looking for passionate writers to drive the site’s coverage of the comic book industry. Authors will be responsible for a particular niche, providing reviews, opinion and news coverage, while building a reader community using his or her multimedia storytelling skills. The best candidates have solid writing skills, WordPress knowledge, and are engaged on social media. Do you love comic books and have a strong opinion, then we would like to speak with you.

IMMORTAL HULK #11: The Horrifying Evolution Of Rage 7

MEET THE TEAM

COMIC REVIEW DIGEST, sign up today! At Monkeys Fighting Robots, we strive to talk about ALL aspects of a comic book, instead of just giving you a recap of the story.
  • Did you notice how epic the colors were?
  • That was a wicked panel layout by the artist!
  • What was the letterer thinking?
  • How did this comic book make you feel?
  • Most importantly, should you buy it?

Every Wednesday you will receive an email with our latest reviews and analyses, as well as our original comic strips and exclusive editorial content.
Thanks for signing up!