BLACK SCIENCE #40 “Remender and Scalera should do comics together forever.”

FIRST IMPRESSION

BLACK SCIENCE is a masterpiece that every science fiction fan should read.
WRITING/STORY
PENCILS/INKS
COLORING
LETTERING
- Advertisement -

Black Science is coming to an end within a few issues for Image Comics. Grant McKay and the gang face off against the evil inter-dimensional witch Doxta in a dramatic march towards the final chapter.

BLACK SCIENCE #40 "Remender and Scalera should do comics together forever." 1

***SPOILERS LIE AHEAD***

 

The McKay family and all of their many allies make a final stand against Doxta and her forces to save existence. Grant faces all he fears and regrets to save those that he loves and put the universe back on the right track.

- Advertisement -

It all seems to work out with the destruction of Doxta. That doesn’t actually happen to be the case in an absolutely brutal twist when we go from the happy ending to Grant foaming at the mouth seeing this false vision of the end. He comes to surrounded by the slaughtered bodies of his family and friends and a smiling Doxta.

Grant has failed one more time, Doxta has prevailed and plans to torture our beloved, damaged hero for eternity. In another huge twist, Grant wasn’t the final obstacle in Doxta’s way. In our cliffhanger ending, Kadir emerges to face the evil witch.

BLACK SCIENCE #40 "Remender and Scalera should do comics together forever." 2

Black Science #40 is full of twists and brutal turns that deliver and effectively lead the reader where they’re intended to. As with the entire series thus far, Matteo Scalera’s art is phenomenal. So much emotion and weight in not only the dramatic moments, but the quieter and lighter moments as well.

Doxta has been established as one of the most brutal and punishing villains of recent memory. The landscape our characters have to navigate is one of both nightmares and wonder. Scalera has done forty brilliant issues of art that everyone should be paying attention to.

Rick Remender’s skill for long-term plotting and development is best on display in Black Science. The journey we’ve gone on with these characters, through the literal Eververse, has been satisfying and brutally honest. It’s amazing that such realistically tragic figures can exist and interact so effectively in a book this insanely imaginative. Remender and Scalera should do comics together forever.

BLACK SCIENCE #40 "Remender and Scalera should do comics together forever." 3

Every step this series has taken in a new direction, with every new chapter that starts, it continues to develop in ways that keep us on our toes. Black Science is pure science-fiction imagination come to life and delivered to readers in a beautiful package that isn’t easy to predict.

Grant McKay is far from the hero we’re all accustomed to in comic books and Black Science is far from what is to be expected from comic book stories. It’s a shame that the end is near but it’s going to be a hell of a ride getting there.

Save 50% on graphic novels, statues & more!

TRENDING THIS WEEK

FIREFLY #9 Shows How The Past Is Never Far Behind

Firefly #9 is a poignant reminder that no matter how far Malcolm Reynolds runs, he’ll never escape his past. This dark issue is perfect for fans of Mal and Zoe.

Meet The Next Guardians Of The Galaxy In BLACK PANTHER AND THE AGENTS OF WAKANDA #1

You might not know a lot about the Agents of Wakanda right now but it’s only a matter of time before some of them become breakout stars. 

Review: The Expansion Never Ends in STRAYED #2

Strayed #2 continues Lou’s tale, providing brilliant artwork and many of the answers to questions fans have been asking about the series.

G.I. JOE #1 Is a Joe-Tastic Start For New Readers

This Wednesday the action-packed first issue of IDW's newly rebooted G.I. Joe releases, where everyone can be a Joe, even you! The G.I. Joe comic...

Review: YEAR OF THE VILLAIN: LEX LUTHOR #1 – Another Year, Another Ode To A Classic Villain

Year Of The Villain: Lex Luthor #1 is a strong collaborative effort that is a true celebration of one of the most complex villains...

Cosmic Ghost Rider Gets Gamma Bombed In Our AVENGERS #24 Exclusive Preview

Avengers #24 hits your local comic shop next week on September 25, but thanks to Marvel Comics, Monkeys Fighting Robots has an exclusive four-page...

Review: SPIDER-MAN #1 – J.J Abrams And Henry Abrams Take Spidey In A Bold New Direction

Spider-Man #1 by J.J. Abrams, Henry Abrams, Sara Pichelli, Elisabetta D'Amico, Dave Stewart and Joe Caramagna is an intriguing and beautifully illustrated book that...

A Dark and Deadly Tale Begins In NOMEN OMEN #1

Nomen Omen #1 is the start of a dark and disturbing series from Image Comics. It's a tale of the supernatural coming after what is their due, and so much more.
Avatar
Brandon J. Griffin - Comic Book Critichttps://twitter.com/griffunk
New Jersey scum who worships comic books like religious literature. Yell at me on Twitter @griffunk

SPONSORS

If you want your BUSINESS to be part of something bigger than itself, you might be a good fit to partner with Monkeys Fighting Robots.

BLACK SCIENCE #40 "Remender and Scalera should do comics together forever." 7

CONTACT US

BLACK SCIENCE #40 "Remender and Scalera should do comics together forever." 8

Are you a creator looking for a review of your book?
Use the form below to end us a message.

Are you a fan of the website and have a comment, question, or concern? Drop us a line, and we will gladly answer all your questions.

JOIN THE TEAM

Monkeys Fighting Robots is looking for passionate writers to drive the site’s coverage of the comic book industry. Authors will be responsible for a particular niche, providing reviews, opinion and news coverage, while building a reader community using his or her multimedia storytelling skills. The best candidates have solid writing skills, WordPress knowledge, and are engaged on social media. Do you love comic books and have a strong opinion, then we would like to speak with you.

BLACK SCIENCE #40 "Remender and Scalera should do comics together forever." 9

MEET THE TEAM

COMIC REVIEW DIGEST, sign up today! At Monkeys Fighting Robots, we strive to talk about ALL aspects of a comic book, instead of just giving you a recap of the story.
  • Did you notice how epic the colors were?
  • That was a wicked panel layout by the artist!
  • What was the letterer thinking?
  • How did this comic book make you feel?
  • Most importantly, should you buy it?

Every Wednesday you will receive an email with our latest reviews and analyses, as well as our original comic strips and exclusive editorial content.
Thanks for signing up!