AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #5: Spencer & Ottley Becoming Marvel’s Top Duo

Writing/Script
Pencils/Inks
Coloring
Lettering
- Advertisement -

Spencer & Ottley are quickly becoming Marvel’s top pairing. Amazing Spider-Man #5 does so much without overexerting itself. This series should drag people back to superhero comics that have moved on from the genre.

ASM 5 cvr

***SPOILERS LIE AHEAD***

 

Spencer’s sense of humor that we saw during his Superior Foes Of Spider-Man and Astonishing Ant-Man blends perfectly into Peter’s roommate situation. There’s probably no better writer for injecting personality into lower-level supervillains than Spencer.

- Advertisement -

Boomerang may not be among the all-time great rogues in Spidey’s gallery, but thanks to Spencer he’s being further solidified as a Spider-Man supporting character in general. The prominence of Boomerang’s comedic relief takes a lot of weight off of Spider-Man’s shoulders for comedy bits.

The emphasis on Peter Parker’s supporting cast is a major element to what makes this run so special already. Early in the Ditko/Lee run that started it all, the more the characters around Spidey were fleshed out, the more the book started to stand in a league of it’s own. Nick Spencer recognizes what makes this title special and hits all the right notes without retreading.

Another great hallmark of Spider-Man comics, and all great comic books really, is an effective mystery villain operating in the shadows! “Who did that to Stromm?! Why did he say those words?” It’s hard not to hear these questions at the end of the issue in Stan Lee’s 1960s voice as he teased readers to come back next issue.

AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #5: Spencer & Ottley Becoming Marvel's Top Duo 1

It’s impressive how much Spencer & Ottley are able to milk out of the two Peters. Their every interaction is great, especially the farther from each other they become. Pete’s sacrifice to save Spidey and the deterioration of what makes him Spider-Man is a hilarious scene. It zigs when most others would have zagged, and plays out flawlessly. Peter-Man forever!

Spider-Man separated from Peter Parker ends up being funnier than Deadpool has been in a very long time. Having his untimely and corny jokes get on Pete’s nerves was a nice touch. As was the line “I can feel myself trying to be funny again” once the two merge back together.

There’s a lot to love about the finale of Amazing Spider-Man #5 once the tale of two Peters concludes. Taskmaster and Black Ant’s interrogation scene is a memorably hilarious moment. They’re getting the proper Spencer villain treatment as well.

Those short jungle pages we’ve seen over the past few issues turn out to be Kraven The Hunter’s glorious return to the pages of Amazing Spider-Man. His tease and reveal generate plenty of excitement.

Spencer & Ottley aren’t lingering too long on anybody, moving a lot of pieces around at once. They’re dealing out the right amount of screen-time and nobody is wearing out their welcome. It’s the punk rock philosophy applied to comic books. These appearances are well-crafted two minute punk songs that we want more of.

AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #5: Spencer & Ottley Becoming Marvel's Top Duo 2

Ryan Ottley has settled into the world of Spider-Man so nicely. You can see plenty of Invincible in his characters, but mostly this is what Spidey and his supporting cast were meant to look like and there’s no turning back.

The little things that Ottley is capable of doing with minimal pencils at times is astounding. He can deliver a detailed high-concept design that’s fully functional as well as perfectly cartoon a character’s mood shift with a single line.

Spider-Man fans should be reveling in the fact that he’s ours now and the new standard for drawing our favorite wall-crawler. We are truly blessed in this new era.

The only thing that bugged me in this entire issue was Peter having Felicia Hardy’s avatar in his phone contacts be her as Black Cat. That’s a pretty ignorant use of somebody’s secret identity–or is that not a secret? Who cares, this is a great comic book.

Colorist Laura Martin is a splendid compliment to every strength that Ottley has. She does wonderful things with character’s hair and costumes, providing a brilliant contrast to Ottley’s more minimalist panels. Veteran letterer Joe Caramagna keeps the energy light and the ship afloat. This is a spectacular creative team from top to bottom.

Amazing Spider-Man #5 is another home run for Marvel’s new darlings. Spencer & Ottley should be celebrated and appreciated by every Spider-Man fan reading comics. There hasn’t been this great of a jumping-on point for Spidey comics in over a decade.

Save 50% on graphic novels, statues & more!

TRENDING THIS WEEK

Review: DEAD END KIDS #3 Will Leave You Needing Tissues

With the concluding issue, DEAD END KIDS #3 wraps up its emotional coming-of-age story on a somber, yet high note. Word of warning, you...

Review: RONIN ISLAND #6: Will Hana Fight For The Island?

Hana and Kenichi—the dynamic duo who put aside their differences to fight the monstrous Byonin—have been separated for quite some time. After the warriors...

AfterShock Exclusive Preview: BAD RECEPTION #2 – OMG, The HORROR! 😱🔪🔪

Bad Reception #2 hits your local comic book store on September 25, but thanks to AfterShock Comics, Monkeys Fighting Robots has a four-page preview...

Donny Cates Kills Off The Marvel Universe In GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY #9 Preview

Guardians of the Galaxy #9 hits your local comic book shop on September 18, but thanks to Marvel Comics, Monkeys Fighting Robots has a...

Review: SUPERGIRL #34 Crashing Back To Earth In Style

This is a return to form in Supergirl #34 from DC Comics, with a creative team who are comfortable working together. Back to Earth and back to basics.

A Dark and Deadly Tale Begins In NOMEN OMEN #1

Nomen Omen #1 is the start of a dark and disturbing series from Image Comics. It's a tale of the supernatural coming after what is their due, and so much more.

FIREFLY #9 Shows How The Past Is Never Far Behind

Firefly #9 is a poignant reminder that no matter how far Malcolm Reynolds runs, he’ll never escape his past. This dark issue is perfect for fans of Mal and Zoe.

Review: The Cavalry Arrives In ABSOLUTE CARNAGE #3

Absolute Carnage #3 continues the series’ exceptional start and the whole team continues to impress
Avatar
Brandon J. Griffin - Comic Book Critichttps://twitter.com/griffunk
New Jersey scum who worships comic books like religious literature. Yell at me on Twitter @griffunk

SPONSORS

If you want your BUSINESS to be part of something bigger than itself, you might be a good fit to partner with Monkeys Fighting Robots.

AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #5: Spencer & Ottley Becoming Marvel's Top Duo 5

CONTACT US

AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #5: Spencer & Ottley Becoming Marvel's Top Duo 6

Are you a creator looking for a review of your book?
Use the form below to end us a message.

Are you a fan of the website and have a comment, question, or concern? Drop us a line, and we will gladly answer all your questions.

JOIN THE TEAM

Monkeys Fighting Robots is looking for passionate writers to drive the site’s coverage of the comic book industry. Authors will be responsible for a particular niche, providing reviews, opinion and news coverage, while building a reader community using his or her multimedia storytelling skills. The best candidates have solid writing skills, WordPress knowledge, and are engaged on social media. Do you love comic books and have a strong opinion, then we would like to speak with you.

AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #5: Spencer & Ottley Becoming Marvel's Top Duo 7

MEET THE TEAM

COMIC REVIEW DIGEST, sign up today! At Monkeys Fighting Robots, we strive to talk about ALL aspects of a comic book, instead of just giving you a recap of the story.
  • Did you notice how epic the colors were?
  • That was a wicked panel layout by the artist!
  • What was the letterer thinking?
  • How did this comic book make you feel?
  • Most importantly, should you buy it?

Every Wednesday you will receive an email with our latest reviews and analyses, as well as our original comic strips and exclusive editorial content.
Thanks for signing up!