Get Into The Olympic Spirit With KICKING ICE, A Graphic Novel About Women’s Hockey

- Advertisement -

The Winter Olympic Games kick off on February 9, but you can get into the ice hockey spirit early with a new graphic novel from Ominous Press, KICKING ICE, about a few ice hockey girls breaking the mold. The book is written by Stephanie Phillips, drawn by Lee Moder, and colored by Marissa Louise.

Phillips launched a Kickstarter Thursday morning to fund the graphic novel.



Kicking Ice tells the story of two young female hockey players, Bella and Skye, who dream of playing professional hockey in the National Women’s Hockey League (NWHL). Bella and Skye are the only girls on their co-ed hockey team and learn to overcome bullying from some of their male opponents. In particular, a rival player named Derek likes to tease Bella and Skye by telling them that girls will never be as good at hockey as boys. Of course, Bella and Skye prove that kicking ice isn’t just for boys.

- Advertisement -

The NWHL, established in 2015, is an American women’s professional ice hockey league comprised of four teams: the Buffalo Beauts, Boston Pride, Connecticut Whale, and Metropolitan Riveters. The Isobel Cup is the league’s championship trophy, named after Lady Isobel Gathorne-Hardy, the daughter of Frederick Stanley, 16th Earl of Derby, donor of the Stanley Cup.

The average salary of an NWHL player is between $6,000 and $20,000 a year for a 16 game schedule plus playoffs.

“Our goal is to support the NWHL’s efforts to grow the game and foster equality through sports. As such, a portion of all of our sales go to the players and their efforts to grow women’s hockey,” said Phillips.

Check out the Kickstarter for KICKING ICE.

In the Winter Olympics this year the U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team is in Group A alongside Canada, Finland, and Russia, and will open the competition Sunday, February 11 against Finland at 2:40 a.m. ET.

Complete 2018 U.S. OLYMPIC ICE HOCKEY SCHEDULE

lympic women's ice hockey schedule

Save 50% on graphic novels, statues & more!

TRENDING THIS WEEK

FIREFLY #9 Shows How The Past Is Never Far Behind

Firefly #9 is a poignant reminder that no matter how far Malcolm Reynolds runs, he’ll never escape his past. This dark issue is perfect for fans of Mal and Zoe.

AfterShock Exclusive Preview: DARK ARK: AFTER THE FLOOD #1

Dark Ark: After The Flood #1 kicks off the Halloween season on October 2, but thanks to AfterShock Comics, Monkeys Fighting Robots has a...

G.I. JOE #1 Is a Joe-Tastic Start For New Readers

This Wednesday the action-packed first issue of IDW's newly rebooted G.I. Joe releases, where everyone can be a Joe, even you! The G.I. Joe comic...

Frank Miller And The Dark Knight: Together Again

He's currently chronicling the adventures of the Man of Steel in Superman Year One, but it seems Frank Miller's heart will always bring him...

Review: Depression’s Effects On Relationships Explored In MIDDLEWEST #11

MIDDLEWEST's angsty protagonist Abel is on a mission to find a way to deal with the uncontrollable power inside of him. Led into The...

A Dark King Rises In ONCE & FUTURE #2

Once & Future #2 continues the warped legend of King Arthur. This is a story that will leave you looking for more while chilling you to the bone.

GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY #9 – The Universal Chuch Of Action

This week Marvel unleashes GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY #9 upon their faithful cosmic followers. Donny Cates delivers another heavy metal soaked script that artist Cory Smith packages in a fast-paced and action-packed issue.

Review: BLACK HAMMER: AGE OF DOOM #12-The End of an Epic

With Anti-God threatening existence once again, Abraham Slam, Golden Gail, and company are forced to make a difficult choice in Black Hammer: Age of...
Avatar
Matthew Sardo
As the founder of Monkeys Fighting Robots, I'm currently training for my next job as an astronaut cowboy. Reformed hockey goon, comic book store owner, video store clerk, an extra in 'Transformers: Dark of the Moon,' 'Welcome Back Freshman,' and for one special day, I was a Ghostbuster.

SPONSORS

If you want your BUSINESS to be part of something bigger than itself, you might be a good fit to partner with Monkeys Fighting Robots.

Get Into The Olympic Spirit With KICKING ICE, A Graphic Novel About Women's Hockey 3

CONTACT US

Get Into The Olympic Spirit With KICKING ICE, A Graphic Novel About Women's Hockey 4

Are you a creator looking for a review of your book?
Use the form below to end us a message.

Are you a fan of the website and have a comment, question, or concern? Drop us a line, and we will gladly answer all your questions.

JOIN THE TEAM

Monkeys Fighting Robots is looking for passionate writers to drive the site’s coverage of the comic book industry. Authors will be responsible for a particular niche, providing reviews, opinion and news coverage, while building a reader community using his or her multimedia storytelling skills. The best candidates have solid writing skills, WordPress knowledge, and are engaged on social media. Do you love comic books and have a strong opinion, then we would like to speak with you.

Get Into The Olympic Spirit With KICKING ICE, A Graphic Novel About Women's Hockey 5

MEET THE TEAM

COMIC REVIEW DIGEST, sign up today! At Monkeys Fighting Robots, we strive to talk about ALL aspects of a comic book, instead of just giving you a recap of the story.
  • Did you notice how epic the colors were?
  • That was a wicked panel layout by the artist!
  • What was the letterer thinking?
  • How did this comic book make you feel?
  • Most importantly, should you buy it?

Every Wednesday you will receive an email with our latest reviews and analyses, as well as our original comic strips and exclusive editorial content.
Thanks for signing up!